Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Have you upgraded just your cpu before?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
38 replies to this topic

Poll: Upgraded just the CPU? (45 member(s) have cast votes)

CPU upgrade only?

  1. No (13 votes [28.89%])

    Percentage of vote: 28.89%

  2. Yes 1-2 times (16 votes [35.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.56%

  3. Yes 3-4 times (10 votes [22.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.22%

  4. Yes 5+ times (6 votes [13.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.33%

Vote

#1 neddamttocs

neddamttocs

    Total Nerd

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, ON

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:36 AM

This weeks OCC Poll comed from Freddie:

 

Have you ever upgraded your CPU without upgrading your motherboard?

 

Let us know!

 

 

Apparently I can't make polls at the moment so the choices are:

 

No.

Yes 1-2 Time

Yes 3-4 Times

Yes 5+ Times



OCC Rules || Follow OCC on Posted Image

Posted Image

| Intel E8400 | Asus P5Q | 4GB of G.Skill PQ 8000 RAM | Palit 4850 512MB Sonic | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 |
| 2x 320GB in Raid0 for OS + 750GB for data | D-Link DNS323 w/2TB for Media |


#2 ComputerEd

ComputerEd

    Voice of Computing Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:51 AM

Yes, 1or twice. You know this surprised me when I considered it because I really thought it was more often than that.


Get your GEEK on ever week with Computer Ed Radio

http://computeredradio.com  http://facebook.com/computered

 

 


#3 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:04 AM

A few times not often and its useually while pinching parts from other rigs that are being parted out.

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#4 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:15 AM

Most of the time i keep stuff until i swap sockets, as i usually max out that socket anyway (i7 1156->i7 1366->i7 1155-> i7 2011)

 

Have done it a few tomes for other peoples systems (C2S->C2D/C2D->C2Q)


The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#5 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:51 AM

yes 1-2 times


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#6 Guest_Jim_*

Guest_Jim_*

    ANTITHAT

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4325 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:08 AM

No and I don't see myself doing it with this setup either. Would want to replace the motherboard at the same time.


Processor: AMD A10-5800K @4.40 GHz (44.0x100)
Cooling: Corsair H110
Motherboard: ASUS F2A85-M PRO
GPU: EVGA GTX 770 2 GB
PhysX: EVGA GTX 570 1280 MB
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8 GB (32 GB total) at 1866 MHz 10-10-10-27
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 750 W
OS: Windows 7- Professional 64-bit
Guest_Jim_*.jpg

 


Needs more tigers.

Steam Inventory. Let me know if something interests you.


#7 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:28 AM

Nope. That's why Broadwell processors soldered to the mobo wouldn't bother me.


CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#8 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:31 AM

Nope. That's why Broadwell processors soldered to the mobo wouldn't bother me.


CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#9 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4246 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:56 AM

Yes, 2 times.

Once on LGA775 upgrading a Core 2 Duo E6300 to a Core 2 Quad Q8300.

Second on AM3 upgrading a 1055T to a 1090T.

 

Will probably make it a third when Ivy Bridge-E arrive for LGA2011.


i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | ASUS GTX780 Ti
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#10 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:19 AM

I have a few times but now a days you have little reason unless the cpu is much better.  It use to be kinda a linear curve: buy midrange > use for year > upgrade when socket is dead. 

 

What I do now is buy mid-end range cpu > use until it's slower than the next socket and sell the rig > buy the socket after that one.


Edited by hornybluecow, 13 January 2013 - 08:20 AM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.4ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, GTX Titan, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#11 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:30 AM

I've done it from:

Celeron to Pentium 4

Pentium 4 to Pentium 4 HT

 

I'll do it from:

FX-6100 to Piledriver FX 6-core Processor (if benchmarks are favourable)


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#12 AZNguyen

AZNguyen

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:05 AM

Once. i5 2500K to i7 3770K, only because I got the 3770K cheap for $128 shipped.

 

I may do so again in the future on my HTPC and Server, if need be. So many options for 1155 socket :D


Edited by AZNguyen, 13 January 2013 - 09:08 AM.

Gaming || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 2x 4GB || EVGA GTX 680 2 GB || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

|| 3x Dell UltraSharp U2312HM || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Audio-gd NFB 15.32 || Hifiman HE400 ||

HTPC || Intel Celeron G530 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 4GB || CM Elite 460W ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 16GB || Corsair CX430 || IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||