Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Have you upgraded just your cpu before?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
38 replies to this topic

Poll: Upgraded just the CPU? (45 member(s) have cast votes)

CPU upgrade only?

  1. No (13 votes [28.89%])

    Percentage of vote: 28.89%

  2. Yes 1-2 times (16 votes [35.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.56%

  3. Yes 3-4 times (10 votes [22.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.22%

  4. Yes 5+ times (6 votes [13.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.33%

Vote

#1 neddamttocs

neddamttocs

    Total Nerd

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2278 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, ON

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:36 AM

This weeks OCC Poll comed from Freddie:

 

Have you ever upgraded your CPU without upgrading your motherboard?

 

Let us know!

 

 

Apparently I can't make polls at the moment so the choices are:

 

No.

Yes 1-2 Time

Yes 3-4 Times

Yes 5+ Times



OCC Rules || Follow OCC on Posted Image

Posted Image

RIG #1 | AMD FX-6300 | Gigabyte 970A-D3P | 8GB of G.Skill RipjawX RAM | Saphire R9 270X 2GB | Corsair CX500 | 1TB WD Blue
RIG #2 | Intel E8400 | Asus P5Q | 4GB of G.Skill PQ 8000 RAM | Palit 4850 512MB Sonic | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 | 2x 320GB in Raid0 for OS + 750GB for data
| D-Link DNS323 w/2TB for Media |


#2 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:51 AM

Yes, 1or twice. You know this surprised me when I considered it because I really thought it was more often than that.


Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#3 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5269 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:04 AM

A few times not often and its useually while pinching parts from other rigs that are being parted out.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#4 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:15 AM

Most of the time i keep stuff until i swap sockets, as i usually max out that socket anyway (i7 1156->i7 1366->i7 1155-> i7 2011)

 

Have done it a few tomes for other peoples systems (C2S->C2D/C2D->C2Q)


The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#5 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:51 AM

yes 1-2 times


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#6 Guest_Jim_*

Guest_Jim_*

    ANTITHAT

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4514 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:08 AM

No and I don't see myself doing it with this setup either. Would want to replace the motherboard at the same time.


Processor: AMD A10-5800K @4.40 GHz (44.0x100)
Cooling: Corsair H110
Motherboard: ASUS F2A85-M PRO
GPU: EVGA GTX 770 2 GB
PhysX: EVGA GTX 570 1280 MB
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8 GB (32 GB total) at 1866 MHz 10-10-10-27
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 750 W
OS: Windows 7- Professional 64-bit
Guest_Jim_*.jpg

 


Needs more tigers.

Steam Inventory. Let me know if something interests you.


#7 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:28 AM

Nope. That's why Broadwell processors soldered to the mobo wouldn't bother me.


CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#8 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:31 AM

Nope. That's why Broadwell processors soldered to the mobo wouldn't bother me.


CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#9 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:56 AM

Yes, 2 times.

Once on LGA775 upgrading a Core 2 Duo E6300 to a Core 2 Quad Q8300.

Second on AM3 upgrading a 1055T to a 1090T.

 

Will probably make it a third when Ivy Bridge-E arrive for LGA2011.


i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | ASUS GTX780 Ti
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#10 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:19 AM

I have a few times but now a days you have little reason unless the cpu is much better.  It use to be kinda a linear curve: buy midrange > use for year > upgrade when socket is dead. 

 

What I do now is buy mid-end range cpu > use until it's slower than the next socket and sell the rig > buy the socket after that one.


Edited by hornybluecow, 13 January 2013 - 08:20 AM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#11 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:30 AM

I've done it from:

Celeron to Pentium 4

Pentium 4 to Pentium 4 HT

 

I'll do it from:

FX-6100 to Piledriver FX 6-core Processor (if benchmarks are favourable)


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#12 AZNguyen

AZNguyen

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7951 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:05 AM

Once. i5 2500K to i7 3770K, only because I got the 3770K cheap for $128 shipped.

 

I may do so again in the future on my HTPC and Server, if need be. So many options for 1155 socket :D


Edited by AZNguyen, 13 January 2013 - 09:08 AM.

Gaming || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 2x 4GB || EVGA GTX 680 2 GB || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

|| 3x Dell UltraSharp U2312HM || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Audio-gd NFB 15.32 || Hifiman HE400 ||

HTPC || Intel Celeron G530 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 4GB || CM Elite 460W ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 16GB || Corsair CX430 || IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||