Intel Core i7 930 Max overclock on stock cooler

Hey Guys.... I have an intel core i7 930 2.8 Ghz processor. Please suggest me the maximum Host clock frequency i can set on Stock cooling solution. I need to overclock it so as to play games like Assassin's creed revelations and Battlefield 3 on ultra (i have 560 ti OC). Also should i turn of the turbo boost ????? Please help i am new to this.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey Guys.... I have an intel core i7 930 2.8 Ghz processor. Please suggest me the maximum Host clock frequency i can set on Stock cooling solution. I need to overclock it so as to play games like Assassin's creed revelations and Battlefield 3 on ultra (i have 560 ti OC). Also should i turn of the turbo boost ????? Please help i am new to this.

Download Prime 95, and Core Temp. Run both the applications for 30 minutes. You come back and tell us what your highest temperature is. You can get a tiny boost on the stock cooler if your case is a super high airflow case. In reality it is TOTALLY stupid to over clock on the stock cooler, so you might want to look at getting an after market cooler.

Yes you should turn off Turbo boost since it becomes useless when you overclock it.

If you want to achieve a good overclock, you need to tell us your motherboard, ram, and temps at stock and on prime 95. However, the BIGGEST thing you need is a better cooler.

Download Prime 95, and Core Temp. Run both the applications for 30 minutes. You come back and tell us what your highest temperature is. You can get a tiny boost on the stock cooler if your case is a super high airflow case. In reality it is TOTALLY stupid to over clock on the stock cooler, so you might want to look at getting an after market cooler.

Yes you should turn off Turbo boost since it becomes useless when you overclock it.