Don't know what to do

Scratch

I dislike Microsoft...I do not believe I should have to purchase an overpriced crappy ripoff of other peoples software simply so I can have DX10 for my new 8800's. I do not want a lot of extraneous crap that I will never use integrated into my OS since I DL the products I like using anyway.

So...is Ubuntu an option although I enjoy gaming, or is it too difficult to configure games to run on an unsupported OS? I have never used Linux so am a total noob except for the VMWare version I am using to fold on atm. BTW I saw the recent article on Ubuntu and really liked it thats why I'm asking

Or...should I buy a new copy of XPpro or actually fork out the outrageous moola for Vista?

I will take all opinions into consideration but I only have 4 days to think about it so... help plz

Why only 4 days? You said buy a new copy? Why buy a new copy? Why can't you use your current copy? Is it installed on another machine already?

Basically I don't think you're getting DX10 with Linux, at least now any time soon. Last I checked DirectX support in general was hit and miss. It's not native to Linux and has to be "emulated" (I say "emulated" because it's not quite emulation). If it's games you want, I honestly think you should leave Linux alone, at least "for now".

*cue Linux lovers flames*

There was talk a while a go about DX10 possibly being back-ported to XP. Developers were making a big fuss about it or something. If you have a copy of XP already, then I would suggest sticking with it and waiting to see how things play out.

Well, (DO NOT quote me on this) I think bigred said something about DX10 coming out for xp. Yes vista (@ least the version I played with) had major problems. Personally I'm keeping xp.

Yea I remember him saying they were going to have to make it for XP also.

Yea I remember him saying they were going to have to make it for XP also.
It definitely makes sense...