Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Why do you OC?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#13 Shurman292

Shurman292

    The Shurmanator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 25 May 2011 - 09:05 AM

primarily for performance i.e. to reduce multimedia encoding / conversion times or reduce gaming bottlenecks

+1 -- video encoding and FSX/Crysis all benefit from an OC. That and I like to fold :foldon:

The Beast
CPU: i7 930 @ 4.01 ghz, 1.26v ||| Cooler: Corsair H100i
MB:ASUS P6X58D-E ||| RAM: G.Skill 6 x 2 GB @ 1528mhz/9-9-9-24/1.6v
Video: Nvidia GTX 480 @ 775mhz/1880mhz ||| Sound: ASUS Xonar D2X
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB ||| HDDs: WD 1TB and 2TB Caviar Blacks
Optical: LG BD Writer ||| Case: CM Storm Trooper with Scythe side fans
Power: Corsair AX1200 Gold ||| OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64


#14 Locutus

Locutus

    Fortune favors the bold.

  • Folding Member
  • 2011 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Largo, FL

Posted 25 May 2011 - 10:26 AM

For the extra 5 FPS.

Heatware - Ebay

"I can't believe I ate the entire kitten!"

 

sigimage.gif


#15 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted 25 May 2011 - 10:37 AM

Sorry double post

Edited by Black6464, 25 May 2011 - 10:42 AM.

Current System

[CPU] Ryzen 5 system --- [CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi 2 --- (AMP) Emotiva A-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums 

 

 


#16 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted 25 May 2011 - 10:42 AM

1.Speed up games
2.speed up boot times
3.Because I can
4.Its [email protected]$$
5. The ability to tell people my PC is faster then theirs :evilgrin:

Edited by Black6464, 25 May 2011 - 10:45 AM.

Current System

[CPU] Ryzen 5 system --- [CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi 2 --- (AMP) Emotiva A-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums 

 

 


#17 Dont_Stop

Dont_Stop

    New Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 May 2011 - 10:47 AM

I had tried a bit of OC. I managed to overclock 200mhz of my 955 just increasing the multiplier. And I could say it`s very fun and addictive! Did not wanted to go further because I own stock cooler and my system is hot as hell, can`t find reason for this.

#18 gotdamojo06

gotdamojo06

    burrr...cpu is cold

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 25 May 2011 - 11:40 AM

its fun...lol

Posted Image OCC|GOTDAMOJO06 - Reviewer
Posted Image
5226MHz


#19 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

    Banana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Eastern Michigan, USA

Posted 25 May 2011 - 11:59 AM

Overclockin is for newbs! Real gamers/enthusiasts buy their computers from Walmart!!

Oooo... or they buy from Gateway!

oOooOooooOOOooo... or from Alienware!

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

*My System*
>< CaseCorsair 350D >< PSUCorsair AX AX760 >< MoBoASUS Maximums VII Gene ><

>< CPUi5-4690k @ 4.8GHz >< CPU CoolerCorsair H110 >< TIM: Artic Silver MTX ><

>< RAMGskill Trident 16GB(2x8gb) 2400MHz @ 10-12-12-2T ><

>< SSD1Samsung 840 pro 512GB SSD >< SSD2Crucial Sata3 480GB SSD ><

>< GPUEVGA nVidia GTX 980 @ 1500mhz/7600mhz >< MonitorSamsung U28D590 4k monitor of awesomeness ><

 

My gold plated butt-plug business is being sued by Apple. Apparently they have a patent for overpriced crap for a holes.

 


#20 jackbrennan2008

jackbrennan2008

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway

Posted 25 May 2011 - 12:13 PM

I used to overclock so i could play games at higher resolutions and detail. But i must admit that with my current system i only overclock because i can and to benchmark. If i left everything at stock i would still be extremely happy with the performance.
CPU: i7-2600K @ 4.5Ghz 1.285v | GPU: Nvidia GTX 580 | Ram: 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengence @ 1866mhz | SSD: Corsair Force 160GB | HD: 2x WD 640gb Black | Mobo: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7 | PSU: Corsair TX750 | Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D

Blog: Jack-Brennan.com
Twitter: JBTechSec

#21 MJCRO

MJCRO

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1749 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 May 2011 - 12:17 PM

The question should be... will it play Crysis? :P

#22 sticknstone

sticknstone

    Good Times!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 25 May 2011 - 04:28 PM

The first introduction to oc for me was on the amd athlon xp system. These systems ran at a fsb of 100 MHz, and offered an overclock to 133 MHz. So the first time I overclocked, it was because of curiousity.
Gigabyte mobo GA-MA790GP-DS4H, AMD Phenom x4 CPU 9950 BE 3.08 GHz

#23 Guest_Jim_*

Guest_Jim_*

    ANTITHAT

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9511 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 May 2011 - 05:10 PM

For fun, for curiosity, for experience. Oh, and of course, FOR FREEDOM! (I like making movie references, even when they aren't needed.)

Processor: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 3.8 GHz
Cooling: Corsair H110 AIO
Motherboard: ASUS Zenith Extreme
GPU: AMD RX Vega 64 (Stock @ 0.965 V +50% Power Limit)
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ 4x8 GB (32 GB) @ 3200 MHz 14-14-14-28
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 750 W
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

GitHub OCC-OCAT script repository
Regular Saturday game stream at YouTube - GuestJimOCC Live

The Body on Games (YouTube, Release Calendar, Blog, and Patreon)


#24 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 25 May 2011 - 08:27 PM

Because I can. If there's free performance there (well...if we don't count what I've spent on water cooling parts) I'm going to get it when I overclock. :lol:

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.