3500+ how far can I go?

jmabe

Hi folks,

I'm a noob @ overclocking, the closest I did to this was using the auto overclock in the ASUS mobo with P4.

Anyway, I got a new system with the intention of overclocking. The system is in the bottom of this message.

I read alot about it, and then I went to the DFI Bios, changed the LDT multi to 3x, CPU multi to 11x (default), FSB going up until I could boot @ 240 FSB, stable, with max CPU temp 45C. I also tried the 10x 264 and it worked, wouldn't pass Memtest86 at 270 FSB though.

I also changed Vcore to 1.45+110%, or 1.55. And memory timings to 2.5-3-3-6, and voltage to 2.8.

The rest of the memory settings remained the optimized defaults of the Lanparty BIOS and so the rest of the Genie settings.

Now, I was wondering if there's an established limit for the 3500+. Because I could OC 20% on my old P4 with the auto OC feature, so if the limit is around this mark, it's pretty bad, and not really worth for me.

And last but not least, I might purchase a Big Typhoon CPU cooler and replace my Enermax with another 535w unit.

Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong, or if I'm too close to the limit of the 3500+ already.

Thanks

My system:

AMD Athlon 3500+ (stock cooling)

DFI Lanparty UT nf4 Ultra-d

Crucial Ballistix 2x512mb DDR3200

XFX GF6800GT PCI-E

3 SATA HDs

Enermax 430w Power

4 Fan case cooling

Hi folks,

I'm a noob @ overclocking, the closest I did to this was using the auto overclock in the ASUS mobo with P4.

Anyway, I got a new system with the intention of overclocking. The system is in the bottom of this message.

I read alot about it, and then I went to the DFI Bios, changed the LDT multi to 3x, CPU multi to 11x (default), FSB going up until I could boot @ 240 FSB, stable, with max CPU temp 45C. I also tried the 10x 264 and it worked, wouldn't pass Memtest86 at 270 FSB though.

I also changed Vcore to 1.45+110%, or 1.55. And memory timings to 2.5-3-3-6, and voltage to 2.8.