Jump to content


Photo

Guide To Smp Folding With Linux In Vmware


  • Please log in to reply
129 replies to this topic

#1 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:19 PM

This guide is to help everyone out there get Linux set up in VMWare on their Windows computer for the purpose of Folding@Home. I'm basing this off the guide I read on PlanetAMD64 a few years back, I don't have the link but want to give credit where it is due. I made some modifications and will include several pictures for those people who have no idea what to do when it comes to Linux.

Before you start download the following:
VMWare Server http://www.vmware.com/products/server/
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit (can use other versions, I prefer 8.04, but they MUST be 64-bit) http://www.ubuntu.co...ubuntu/download

I am using VMWare Workstation, VMWare Server may look slightly different

Creating and Installing a Virtual Machine

You will want to install VMWare first, which I won't cover.

The first step is to open VMWare and click on create Virtual Machine.
Posted Image

Select the following options for your VM. Make sure you select 64-bit, or SMP won't work. Next you need to select a location to install the virtual machine.
Posted Image Posted Image

Be sure to select two processors. SMP only works on multi core systems, so selecting one won't work here.
Posted Image

When asked for the system specs, I like to use the following:
512 MB Memory
4 GB HDD Space
Ethernet: Bridged
You now need to select the location of the image. I prefer to just point the CD-Rom to the image on my computer rather than burning the disk.
Posted Image

Click on Start Virtual Machine. The next screen will prompt you to select your language, select whatever you feel comfortable with. Following that select “Install Ubuntu” from the next screen.

When you make it to the step in the install dealing with partitions, select Guided. If you have never worked with Linux before then you may easily be confused as to what to do for partitions.
Posted Image

Now you must create a user name, password, and hostname. The hostname is used to identify your computer to other computers on the network. You can choose anything that you like, I like to use the names of attractive Russian women. After all info is entered, continue with the install.
Posted Image

At the end of the install, you will be prompted to restart. Simply click the button to do this.

After it reboots, log in using the user name and password you just created. The first step with your new installation is to update your system. There is a red arrow as pointed to by my pink arrow. The screen on the left will come up, click Install Updates. After doing so, it would be a good time to go make a sandwich or do something else while they download and install. This is the most time intensive step in this process.
Posted Image

After this is done, you may have to restart again. You now want to open a terminal, which is found under Applications and then Accessories. Type the following commands into the terminal in order.
1)sudo apt-get install ia32-libs 
(When prompted for a password, it is the same as the one you created earlier.)
2)mkdir Folding
3)cd Folding
4)wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/release/FAH6.29-Linux.tgz
(You may want to just copy and paste into the terminal to prevent spelling errors. To paste in a terminal, use Shift + Ctrl + V.)
5)tar xvf F<Tab>
(You don't need to enter the whole file again, just press tab after the F)
Posted Image

You are now ready to run the SMP Client! The -advmethods flag will allow you to get the Gromacs CVS core which is faster (thanks graememk).
To make it easier to run, you can use the following command to create a script (make sure you are in the folding directory to do so):
echo "./fah6 -smp -advmethods" > fah
The next step is to make this directory executable.
Type the following commands into a terminal.
1)cd ..
2)sudo chmod 0755 Folding
3)cd Folding
To run the client, you will now only need to navigate to the folding directory and enter the following command at the terminal.
./fah

If you want to stop the client, press Ctrl + C at the terminal.
The image below shows the config options I used. Be sure to change the advance options and set the machine ID. F@H will not work if you have more than one instance with the same machine ID. You are now folding for OverClockersClub!!!
Posted Image

If you are folding on VMWare and have a GPU client, I would recommend using the F@H affinity setter found in another sticky.

For an easier setup, or to use 4 or 8 cores, here is some helpful info:

I know this is cheating, but i just downloaded the VM Ware player and used a custom ISO from THIS site it works like a charm


If you have any further questions, feel free to post in this thread or contact me by PM.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#2 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:21 PM

Setting up Samba to monitor your F@H clients.

Now that you have the SMP Client setup, you may want to set up Samba to view your progress without constantly opening VMWare. This guide will show you how to easily do this.

Open up a terminal and enter the following command.
sudo apt-get install samba
After this, you want to make sure it is stopped before you edit it.
sudo /etc/init.d/samba stop
Now you are free to edit the configuration file for Samba
sudo gedit /etc/samba/smb.conf
gedit is similar to notepad so you should have no problem navigating your way around.
Make sure the workgroup in the file is the same as that on your network. Find the line that says “security = user” and change user to share. The image below shows the text that is necessary to make this work. I just changed the attributes for the printer share, feel free to do the same. If you followed my above guide then just change nick to whatever your user name is. After you are finished, make sure you save.
Posted Image

Now you need to create a user to access your Samba share. Use the following command to do so.
sudo smbpasswd -L -a <username>
Type in the desired password twice.

Now you just need to start samba back up and it should show up in your Windows network.
sudo /etc/init.d/samba start

All that is left to do now is to point your choice monitoring program to this directory and you are good to go.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#3 hardnrg

hardnrg

    Overclocking the i7... finally

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:36 PM

very very nicely done... this is a lot clearer than the format of planetamd64/ubuntuforums guides, and also all in one place :)

( How To Ask A Question ) · ( F@H Sigpics ) · ( Rules ) · ( USB Bootdrive ) · ( Modding & Computer Stores ) · ( OCC facebook.png )
i7 920 D0 @ 21x196=4116, HT on · D-Tek Fuzion v1 · 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-10666 @ DDR1176, 8-8-8-22-1T
BFG/XFX GTX260 Maxcore SLI @ 756/1512/1188 (Swiftech MCW60-R + Swiftech GTX200) · Asus P6T Deluxe V2
X-Fi XtremeMusic (Hotrodded) · PCP&C Silencer 750

Athlon II X4 635 @ 2900 · 2x 2GB PC2-6400 · HD5550 1GB · Asus M4A77D · Antec Neopower 480

EeePC 1000H @ 12x164=1965 · 1x 2GB Corsair VS PC2-5300 · Gigabyte Aircruiser N300 GN-WI06N

 


#4 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32279 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:36 PM

Nice work now if we could just get a windows one we would be all set :)

Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
NVIDIA 780TI's in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
3 X 24" LCD's
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#5 damian

damian

    Nerd Life

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tx

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:15 PM

Bravo! :)
This will certainly come in handy for an upcoming folding rig/server.

#6 malmsteenisgod

malmsteenisgod

    Ultimus Romanorum

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:41 PM

Sweet. Thanks for the guide. I'll try this this weekend.
Education ||||| Honesty |||||| Charity ||||| Motivation ||||| Empathy

#7 Crazy_Nate

Crazy_Nate

    Philosophy begins in wonder.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3918 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Hampton roads

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:43 PM

Awesome. :)

OCC Recommended Power Supplies List - The Official OCC Raid Guide - OverclockersClub Rules - OCC Market Place Forum Rules - OCC IRC


Posted Image

Intel i5 650 @ 3.2 -- TR AXP-140 Passive -- Mushkin Blackline 2x2GB -- Asus Gene III P55 / mATX -- WD Caviar Black 1TB -- Corsair HX 750 -- Custom HTPC Case
AMD PII X4 965 -- Mushkin Silverline 2x4GB -- ASUS M4A88T-M -- WD Caviar Black 1TB -- Corsair HX 650 -- LIAN LI PC-V354A (Silver)


#8 DLS2008

DLS2008

    Wait, what goes here?

  • Folding Member
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warren, MI

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:47 PM

Couldn't have asked for better. Thanks so much CheeseMan!!! :foldon:

Thermaltake Armor+ w/ 4 Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E fans/Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 motherboard/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8) 1.280V (CPU-z)/PC P&C Silencer 750W
HP w2408h 24" Widescreen 1920 x 1200/Zalman CNPS9700 HSF/2 x ATI Radeon HD 4870 @ 750 MHz Core/900 MHz Memory/Vista Ultimate 32-bit/4 x 500 GB WD Caviar in RAID 10
Sound Blaster Audigy X-Fi ExtremeGamer/4 GB (2x2GB) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1080 5-5-5-18/2 x 320 GB WD Caviar in RAID 1
http://overclockersc...me=DLS2008&.jpg


#9 Necron80

Necron80

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 22 January 2009 - 02:15 AM

Thanks Cheeseman
This has helped a lot.
Posted Image

#10 Kuronin

Kuronin

    Stand back, it's killing time.

  • Folding Member
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2009 - 02:28 AM

Awesome! Thanks cheeseman, I'm gunna go do it right now.

f97234c9dd3c960b.png


#11 graememk

graememk

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 22 January 2009 - 02:52 AM

I usually add the -advmethods attribute aswell to the command, ie ./fah6 -smp -advmethods as that will bring you work units for the SMP GROMACS CVS core which is newer and faster.

Laptop : Dell XPS 1330, Vista Ultimate x64 + Windows 7 x64 beta 1 (From Technet) - WLED Display - Core 2 Duo T7250 (2.0GHz)-Nvidia 8400m GS -2GB RAM -160gb HDD-9 Cell Battery
Rig : 24" Samsung 2493 LCD monitor, Intel Core 2 Quad 9550, 4GB OCZ PC8500, 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Powercolor 4870 1GB GDDR5, Antec 900 Case, Zalman CNPS 9700 Cooler, MSI Platinum iP45, Vista Ultimate x64 (and maybe Windows 7)
http://overclockersc...6&name=graememk


#12 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 22 January 2009 - 04:52 AM

I usually add the -advmethods attribute aswell to the command, ie ./fah6 -smp -advmethods as that will bring you work units for the SMP GROMACS CVS core which is newer and faster.


Wasn't aware of that, thanks for the heads up. I'll add that.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.