Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Google Chrome


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#1 Phil

Phil

    im in ur fieldz, hooverin ur swardz

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2719 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 02 September 2008 - 05:52 PM

Well, Google has released a new web browser, Google Chrome. My reaction so far is meh.

Anyone want to try it?
The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#2 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 02 September 2008 - 05:59 PM

It gets to a point where one browser is just like the next. I'll give Chrome a try but it's going to take some hard work for Google to unseat Firefox and IE.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#3 Phil

Phil

    im in ur fieldz, hooverin ur swardz

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2719 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:02 PM

It gets to a point where one browser is just like the next. I'll give Chrome a try but it's going to take some hard work for Google to unseat Firefox and IE.

Going by the current offering, they won't anytime soon. :P
The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#4 flareback

flareback

    justified through faith

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SC, USA

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:14 PM

They have some innovative stuff going on, each tab a separate process, but I don't know. I'm not sure I trust google not to track me.
Primary Rig - Intel core i7 920 | Gigabyte EX58 UD4P | 6 GB DDR3 1333 | Sapphire Radeon HD 4850
Secondary Rig - 20 inch iMac | 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo | 2 GB DDR2 RAM
Mobile Rig - Asus Eee pc 1000 - 1.6Ghz intel atom | 40Gig SSD | Ubuntu Netbook Remix

#5 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:18 PM

Ding ding ding! We have a winner - exactly why I am a bit more than a little reluctant to download Chrome.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#6 technodanvan

technodanvan

    Posting Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7403 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:22 PM

They have some innovative stuff going on, each tab a separate process, but I don't know. I'm not sure I trust google not to track me.


Kids these days and your misplaced paranoia. :rolleyes:

So far I like it, feels faster than FF3.0 (by quite a bit) but otherwise it works and that's really all that can be said.

#7 spectrascope

spectrascope

    must take oc higher

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1681 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:39 PM

so far meh it seems faster but it may just be the flashiness of it

Primary Rig - Win 8 64-bit pro | Secondary rig/media server - win 7 64-bit pro

AMD FX8150 @ 4Ghz 4.2Ghz turbo 1.28v G2 Pro Cooler, Asus Sabertooth 990 R2.0 24hr prime stable 63C Max | AMD 610e cooled via COOLER MASTER Hyper N 520, Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3

32GB 4x8GB Geil, sniper ddr3 1866 | 16GB 4x4GB 1600mhz DDR3 balistics

Galaxy GTX 560Ti 1GB SOC White edition 1Ghz core/2GHz shader/4.5GHz mem 256bit bus | Zotac GT545 1.5GB 900mhz core/2Ghz shader/1Ghz mem 192bit bus

Gigabyte GTX550ti 1GB 1Ghz core/2Ghz shader/4.2GHz mem 192 bit bus | 5.6TB of HDD currently - soon to to be 8TB

100GB ocz revo2 pci-e 4x - os drive - 760MB/s read 600MB/s write | Antec 550w earth watts continuous

512GB transcend sata III ssd 560MB/s read 540MB/s write | NTXZ - GAMMA classic with 4 ENERMAX MAGMA 120mm bat wing fans

64GB Transcend SSD SATA III 560MB/s read 540MB/s write for page file | Laptops Leveno T410 i5/4GB win 7 pro 64, x120e e350, 4GB, 128GB samsung Sata 3 SSD

PC&PC 750 from before ocz bought them and an Antec 620 earth watts continuous triggered via 12v relay for GPUs | DIsplays 22" 1080p 60hz LCD, 40" LED 1080p 120hz, 100" 720p laser projector, 20" 1600x1200

Haf 932 2x 240mm, 2x 120mm bat wing fans 1x 140mm bat wing fan | 60hz LCD, 19" 1280x1024 60hz crt for pantone editing


#8 Kash

Kash

    Long Time Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edison, NJ

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:22 PM

It's fast, but since it's based on WebKit, it's essentially using the same engine as Safari on my Mac, so I've experienced this speed already. Sure, it looks nice, but I'm gonna stick with Firefox solely for its extensions.

Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte Z68
16GB G.Skill PC3-12800 (9-9-9-24) | EVGA GeForce GTX 560


#9 Phil

Phil

    im in ur fieldz, hooverin ur swardz

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2719 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:34 PM

Ding ding ding! We have a winner - exactly why I am a bit more than a little reluctant to download Chrome.

I hear that. My firewall asked for a whole lot of permissions when installing it, and it left GoogleUpdater running, something that I always leave off. No doubt Chrome is phoning home, but so do other apps, I guess it's about how much you trust Google.

I am a little dismayed about how Google is edging more and more towards Yahoo in the junkware department.
The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#10 krazypoloc

krazypoloc

    Samba Samurai

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milwaukee

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:56 PM

I love it! Its fast and very sexy!
Headless Storage Server My Media Library
Asus A8NSLI | AMD 4400 X2 S939 | 4x 512MB Corsair | ATI HD4350 | 8x Seagate 1.5TB RAID5 (10.5TB)| Highpoint RR 2320 | Server 2003 x32

Workstation
Asus P7P55D Premium | i7 [email protected] | Prolimatech Megahalems | 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | 2X ATI 5850@850/1175 | 2x Super Talent SSD's 32GB Raid0 | WD 320GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Posted Image

#11 kendellrt

kendellrt

    My computer can beat up your honor student

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ogden, UT

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:04 PM

It's fast, but since it's based on WebKit, it's essentially using the same engine as Safari on my Mac, so I've experienced this speed already. Sure, it looks nice, but I'm gonna stick with Firefox solely for its extensions.

Does it disallow active x like safari?
The member formerly known as chavalcito.



#12 Kash

Kash

    Long Time Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edison, NJ

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:08 PM

I would imagine so since it isn't using the IE engine. Only way to be sure is to browse to a site that uses ActiveX and requires IE.

Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte Z68
16GB G.Skill PC3-12800 (9-9-9-24) | EVGA GeForce GTX 560