What's the opposite of a divider?

Guest scott_merged

Guest scott

I'm an OC noob.

You run a divider if your RAM can't overclock as fast as your cpu, right?

Well, in my rig I'm pretty sure it's the other way around.

I think the OCZ RAM will go a lot higher than the A64 3200+ cpu.

I think so because benchmarks show the cpu stable up to 251 MHz, but any higher and it's unstable.

But I can boot into Windows way higher, like 270 - 275 MHz, so the RAM must be ok with that.

So, how do you take advantage of the faster RAM speed while holding the cpu down to a speed where it's stable? This is the exact opposite situation of when to use a divider, right?

Booting to Windows isn't a good test of RAM capability/stability. Use Memtest.

Use the divide and conquer method: find individual ceilings for HTT, CPU and RAM, and then try to do the best you can with all three o/c'd at once.

Check the stickies for more in-depth information.

Guest scott
Use a lower multiplier on your cpu

Are you saying that a lower LDT/FSB frequency ratio will let the RAM clock faster than the cpu? It's at X3 now. Are you saying to tune this down to X2?

I'm sure RAM is NOT limiting the OC because lots of guys use the same RAM with higher-level cpu's and post higher speeds than me. One guy (timko) is above 310MHz HTT with this RAM, while I'm stuck at 251MHz HTT right now.

Angry Games says to emphasize faster cpu speed. Still, since the RAM clocks faster than the cpu, it seems to make sense to also put that additional RAM speed to work if I can learn how to do it.

THunDA posted above that there's no way to use a divider to make RAM run faster than the cpu. Well, is there something that's the OPPOSITE of a divider that will do it? Or does RAM simply not run at a faster clock than the cpu no matter what?

Apologies if the answer is obvious to you...it isn't yet clear to me, here in OC learning-land.

I'm an OC noob.

You run a divider if your RAM can't overclock as fast as your cpu, right?