system build

blinkingpeak649

Another noob here and wanted to get everyone's opinion on a build containing the following parts:

Processor: AMD Phenom II X2 560 BE

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA78LMT-S2 AM3 760G mATX AMD Motherboard

Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 5770

Optical Drive: LG GH22NS50 22X Int. SATA Super multi OEM

Power: Cooler Master eXtreme 600W

HDD: WD 320 Gb/3 Gb/s @7200 RPM

Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3-1333

I understand there are better performance parts to make this an excellent gaming/performance machine available for purchase but based on these components I was wondering if this would make a stable Windows 7 OS? Please keep in mind that I understand the current mobo would not support CrossfireX (but does hybrid CrossfireX) and that I would later upgrade to a higher PSU, a capable mobo and a radeon hd 6850 (CFX)

Thank you in advance.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My budget is around $550 to $600. I've heard that AMD CPUs don't mix well with nVIDIA GPUs.

I just now realized my mac changed "noob" to "nub"... fail!

As far as I know, AMD doesn't have any issues when mixed with an nvidia GPU. You're just extremely limited for options if you want to SLI, as there are very few boards on the market for AMD that support it. As far as what you have picked out so far, is any of that being re-used or already in hand? Just establishing a base line so we can figure out what needs to be included in the budget, and what doesn't. I see you don't have a case listed, so I assume you have one already? Also what stores are you purchasing from? I think most will quote prices from newegg, but I know microcenter usually has fair prices and depending on location AMD cpu/mobo combo's to save some money.

AMD with nVidia graphics (reported problems) is a thing of the past. Choose whatever gpu you want regardless of whether it comes from the red or green team.