Jump to content


Photo

GPU folding causing laggy web browser


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5462 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 27 March 2012 - 08:04 AM

has anyone else run into the problem where the web browser lags around while the GPU is folding? it's really bugging me that now i cannot fold unless i am not using the computer at all. everything becomes just a little sluggish and firefox becomes mostly unusable on flash heavy sites like here at OCC.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#2 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 27 March 2012 - 09:30 AM

Not sure which tab it is under but there is a checkbox for 'Hardware Acceleration' in the options menu, I'm pretty sure if you disable it you'll be back to normal.

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#3 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5270 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 27 March 2012 - 10:48 AM

Not sure which tab it is under but there is a checkbox for 'Hardware Acceleration' in the options menu, I'm pretty sure if you disable it you'll be back to normal.

This exactly

Also do you have an SSD as a primary drive? If so there is another more advanced setting I would recommend you use which forces Firefox to cache to ram instead of disk.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 27 March 2012 - 10:56 AM

This is a pretty common side effect when folding on GPUs. I stopped with my 4870X2s back in the day because anything hardware accelerated would slow to a crawl and be extremely laggy whenever I was folding.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#5 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5462 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 27 March 2012 - 04:33 PM

okay i'll disable the options in firefox. it's just odd i never noticed this before this GTX 570, the 200s didn't lag or did a 450 i had running for bit.

bigger work units i'm guessing is the problem.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#6 Guest_Jim_*

Guest_Jim_*

    ANTITHAT

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4551 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2012 - 05:25 PM

okay i'll disable the options in firefox. it's just odd i never noticed this before this GTX 570, the 200s didn't lag or did a 450 i had running for bit.

bigger work units i'm guessing is the problem.

More likely the GPU3 folding core is causing this. It uses more CPU resources than the GPU2 does (pre-Fermi cards). Although that doesn't explain why the 450 wouldn't be affected. I know I was getting lag back when the work units were small and fast for my 570. Now they are big and long, but actually give a higher PPD.

Processor: AMD A10-5800K @ 4.40 GHz (44.0x100)
Cooling: Corsair H110
Motherboard: ASUS F2A85-M PRO
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 980 4 GB
PhysX: EVGA GTX 770 2 GB
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8 GB (32 GB total) at 1866 MHz 10-10-10-27
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 750 W
OS: Windows 7- Professional 64-bit
Guest_Jim_*.jpg

 


Needs more tigers.

Steam Inventory. Let me know if something interests you.


#7 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11509 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2012 - 06:32 PM

Its a bug they are working on. The 803X units are just terrible for screen and system lag. They also drive up temperatures up 15% over the 7612 units I have been running
Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#8 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 28 March 2012 - 05:27 AM

I was noticing the same yesterday. I normally dont fold on the system im using (or while Im using it) but was doing some browsing on one yesterday and it seemed unusualy laggy..
Posted Image

#9 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 26 September 2012 - 07:39 AM

I have experienced this. The only solution I have found is deactivating F@H.

Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image