I think i have it narrowed....

trudgy

I'm new to register here, but been lurking for a long time for research and opinions etc that everyone gives, so thanks for all that.

I"m building a new system for myself to replace a few year old machine.

I do photoshop/lightroom mostly, (with occasional gaming but this is not a need). I basically like to build my system to last a number of years as this past one did.

I have put together the following and just wondering your input on these specific things, maybe i missed something in researching etc.

thanks !

CPU: Either the E6850 or Q6600 - this is yet to be decided - Photoshop doesn't care too much about 4 core so i'm thinkin i'd get better results OC the 6850

Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6

Muskin HP2 5-4-4-4-12 RAM 2gb * 2 kit (seems to overlcok just as well as XP2 kit)

4 * 500gb hard drives in RAID 5

2 * 80gb hard drives in RAID 0 for adobe scratch and windows pagefile

LG 20x DVDRW with lightscribe

Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme

OCZ XTC RAM cooler

Hardcano 13 fan controller

2 * Noctua NF-P12 fans

Antec 850watt true power quattro

Lian Li A71

8600 GTS Overclock video card i will be using I have now

Windowx XP 64bit edition will be used.

I will be overclocking the system when it's built in case that matters.

Any suggestions or comments? with all this stuff i'm pretty much at my maximum limit to spend here in Canada

looks like a solid build. i agree with your decision on the 6850, i have the 6600 but i use a lot of smp apps, so that's really why i picked it. is 160gb of space really required for the pagefile/scratch? oh well :P more power to ya either way :)

I would definetly get the Q6600, but from ClubIT.com, where they sell guaranteed G0 stepping Quads :) The G0's OC a lot better than the older B3's, some OC as far as the E6850s can. If you check the 775 OC Competition thread in the Overclocking section, road-runner has his Quad at 3950MHz more or less stable.