Where Can I Get A Job?

martymcfly

IS there ANY place where I can get a job at my age? I am 14 (15 in december) and I would like a job. I currently am payed 9 bucks an hour (-3 dollars per job) for working on computers at my parents' office. But it is, I feel, too much hassle for the money. I had to go there one morning for something that just required unplugging and re-plugging in the computer. I couldn't be paid for the 5 seconds of work and couldn't get a ride home until 6 P.M. And this same person keeps asking about software that has nothing to do with me, like conneting to a company's proprietary software. I am not able to do this and it is specific to her, so my father has to deal with that kind of stuff anyway. Does anybody know of a national chain (or chain on LI, NY) that will hire somebody of my age? Or will I have to find someplace local? I feel I have a better chance of getting one now than a few months ago, because now, I am not only 14, but I am a high school student. It just sounds better.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't think anyplace that's big can hire you... not so much a matter of wanting to.

but then again putting in apps now might be a good thing. show them you're interested and show them you're motivated. should look good when you're old enough (15 I think is the min age).

Child labor laws make the minimum as 14. Quote the US Department of Labor:

The employment of minors between 14 and 16 years of age in the

occupations, for the periods, and under the conditions hereafter

specified does not interfere with their schooling or with their health

and well-being and shall not be deemed to be oppressive child labor.

http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/Title_29/Par...29CFR570.31.htm

Go to a construction site and ask them if you can work for them picking up the extra scraps of wood and stuff... they might go for that and pay you under the counter!

507600[/snapback]