Getting Started

HitBoxMaster

Hello folks. I'm a total noob in overclock. I want to become a connoisseur of the subject. My main reason to do it is that I don't have enough money to spare to buy top-line components, and have to use a little more modest components and I would like to extract the very last bit of juice out of them.

So i bought a PC last month that fitted my budget. I bought with some serious help, both from the vendor and from my cousin because I'm too not very knowing of which component goes better with which. My PC is a:

PII X4 840 processor

Mainboard MSI NF725M-P43

2 memory cards, 2Gb DDR3 each with Max. Band 667 MHz and a

Radeon HD5670 GPU

My main doubts are those

1) First and foremost, my computer can successfully be overclocked, so I get a better performance at games?? Because in games like AC 2 and Borderlands, if I don't put the quality of everything from mid to low on AC 2 and turn off the shadows in Borderlands, I barely make it to 30 fps and on high demand moments, sometimes I even get 8 to 10 fps.

2) The performance of the CPU interfere in any manner in the visual and 3D performance, i.e. a overclocked CPU can make render and 3D features more efficient and faster??

3) The Overheat Bogeyman . The question here is how critical is a good cooling system?? I only have the fan that pulls the air from outside the PC cabinet and a fan on top of the processor.

1. You need to have a good CPU cooler for OCing(not sure what your using). Also your low frame rates are because of your GPU. I would upgrade it.

2.Yes

3. Depends on your case, your hardware, your ambient temps, how high your OC is and how much demand is on your pc. But if you want to OC then it's highly recommended.