Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Prices of GTX 580 might be going down.


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#13 _TheAlexO

_TheAlexO

    Formerly ShallowBay

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2790 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 29 December 2010 - 06:29 PM

I think nvidia is not going to release a two gf110. They have the fastest single card. AMD has to produce a 6990 to trump nvidia. Simply speculating.


With new component releases the prices are always lower than the previous though. Look at hdd capacity or ram for example.

The manufacturers are simply making business. The market for the fastest card is something they want a percentage of.

With the range of card produced the associated sale prices just don't warrant a place for a gf110. That kind of business is too small. Therefore, the price adjustments (where does the new card fit in to the market).


they have the fasted single GPU. 2nd fasted Card right behind the 5970 :P

Edited by ShallowBay, 29 December 2010 - 06:30 PM.

My Skyrim ENB Album

Processor: Intel Core i5 3570k @4.4ghz | Motherboard: MSI z77a-g43 | Video Card: EVGA GTX 680 @1.3ghz core | Memory: 16gb Patriot ddr3 2133mhz (from OCC) | Case: Corsair 600T Alpine Edition | Power Supply: Corsair 700 Gamer Series

 | Speakers: Corsair sp2500 (from OCC) | Headset: Logitech G35 | Mouse: Logitech g500 | Keyboard: Corsair K60 Red Switches


#14 Nyt

Nyt

    Overclocking addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4699 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 29 December 2010 - 10:13 PM

I dont think there will be a dual GTX580 or dual HD6970 on one pcb. Its just way too hot . The 6970 is an 11 inch card with a massive vapour chamber and it barely keeps one gpu cool so how the hell will they keep two flagship gpu's cool on one pcb . Same with the GTX580 .

My theory is that they changed the naming scheme of the 6700 series to the 6800 series so they could use two 6870 gpu's on one pcb and call it a 6990 while it doesnt look like they put two 6770 gpu's on on pcb.

But they could use two 6970's or 580's if they use a lot of power limiting hard/software and limit heat and power consumption

i7 4770K | ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Samsung 850 Pro | Corsair H105
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#15 Speedway

Speedway

    IRL is back, Go Penske!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Speedway, IN

Posted 29 December 2010 - 11:22 PM

I dont think there will be a dual GTX580 or dual HD6970 on one pcb. Its just way too hot . The 6970 is an 11 inch card with a massive vapour chamber and it barely keeps one gpu cool so how the hell will they keep two flagship gpu's cool on one pcb . Same with the GTX580 .

My theory is that they changed the naming scheme of the 6700 series to the 6800 series so they could use two 6870 gpu's on one pcb and call it a 6990 while it doesnt look like they put two 6770 gpu's on on pcb.

But they could use two 6970's or 580's if they use a lot of power limiting hard/software and limit heat and power consumption



We will see very soon! 6990 scheduled for Jan/Q1, but of course that couldn't possibly be pushed back ;)

Edited by SpeedwayNative, 29 December 2010 - 11:22 PM.

Life Begins @ 220mph


I7 2600K - ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z - 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133MHz - ASUS GTX 680- (2) Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs RAID 0 - (2) 750GB WD Black HDDs RAID 0 - 900W Tagan BZ Series - U2-UFO

Dual Loop Water Cooling - Koolance RP-452X2 - CPU -> Koolance CPU-360 - Thermochill TA 120.3 - Liang D5 GPU -> D5 - XSPC RX360 - Koolance VID-NX680

The Cube Build Log - Update Coming


Guide for Unlocking MSi Afterburner


Heatware


#16 sticknstone

sticknstone

    Good Times!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 30 December 2010 - 06:49 AM

I've read speculation stating the 6990 contains two 6950's.
Gigabyte mobo GA-MA790GP-DS4H, AMD Phenom x4 CPU 9950 BE 3.08 GHz

#17 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 30 December 2010 - 07:53 AM

I've read speculation stating the 6990 contains two 6950's.

The 6950's and 6970's are the same GPU with different BIOS's, which is why the 6950's can be flashed to become 6970's.

#18 alexonfyre

alexonfyre

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Baton Rouge

Posted 02 January 2011 - 03:55 PM

I already got my 580 for 475, so if they drop the prices that far I may be able to go SLi sooner than I thought!
Case: Corsair 800D
Motherboard: ASUS Sabretooth X58
CPU: Core i7-950 @ Stock (for now)
GPU: PNY XLR8 GTX 580 (Stock)
RAM: 6GB Corsair Dominator Tri-Channel DDR3-1600
SSD: 80GB Intel X25-M
Storage: 1.5TB Seagate Free Agent Pro eSATA.
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
PSU: Corsair 850HX