Question For Those Parents Out There

bigred

Okay, first off my experience with very young children is next to nothing outside the last 4 days. My wife and I have been raising her 3 yr old neice now for a few months, so I have some understanding of a todler, just not an infant.

so here's the debate my wife and I are having. Baby starts wimpering in his crib. Nothing major next to the "crying" he does when he needs/wants something major. I let him wimper a few minutes before going to see what he's doing. my wife goes running to him at the first noise he makes. is it better to let him wimper and just get it out of his system? or is it better to go running to his side every 10 seconds?

and no I won't leave him wimpering for more than 2-3 min tops. if it goes on longer than that (which it usually doesn't) then I go pick him up and rock him until he quiets down (for a few minutes at least).

also learned NOT to go pick him up when not wearing a shirt. little bugger can clamp down REAL fast / hard. and no he's being bottle fed.

well, i'm not a parent, but seeing as you're getting no replies, i'll tell you what i know anyways :P