Complete newbie wanting to build a budget gaming rig

zaphthegreat

Hello all.

First and foremost, I am a complete newbie. I'm not just new at building computers - I'm essentially illiterate when it comes to computers. I mean, I know how to surf the Internet and play games, but I don't really know much about a computer's physical components and what they do. Of course, I'm slowly learning as I'm researching building this PC, but most of you will probably find my questions and concerns profoundly stupid and/or uninformed.

A bit of background: I currently own an HP a6235x. Right off the bat, this is no gaming rig. As a matter of fact, it seems to be just about the opposite of one. To make matters worse, it looks like the CPU's overheating and that its fan is no longer operating at full capacity, because I now have to resort to keeping the case open with a big fan blowing right into it if I want to avoid crashing all the time when I overtax its capacity by, say, surfing some website. I decided that I'd had enough; not just with this computer, but with HP and other major computer companies of that sort in general. Since I enjoy playing computer games and I'd never been satisfied with any of the HPs I'd owned over the years in that department, I started to look at gaming rigs.