Jump to content


Photo

OS Question

free Win10 upgrade

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 dling

dling

    BEER

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buchanan,GA.

Posted 28 July 2017 - 04:10 AM

Im have a new MSI laptop delivered today. It has Win10 64 Pro. I have a copy on Win7 64 that has no bloat ware on it . The win7 OS ,that was upgraded for free to Win10 was used on the LP that died and is being replaced by the MSI.

If the MSI has too much garbage on it can I just format and use the Win7 and expect to still get Win10 upgrade free?


Case:Cooler Master Sniper / Motherboard : ASUS x99 Sabertooth/ CPU: Intel Core i7 [email protected] / CPU HS:Corsair H100i
VGA: Nvidia 1080 TI  / Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB DDR4 2800 / SSD's:OCZ Vertex3 120g X 3 Raid 0 + Samsung EVO 840 250g for OS+WD Blue 500g
PSU: CoolMax 1200W / Monitor: Asus PG279Q @ 165 hz/ KB: CM Storm Trigger Z / Mouse: Razor Lachesis / OS: Windows 10 Home premium 64


#2 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 28 July 2017 - 04:22 AM

If it's a retail Win7 COA you can install it on new laptop,.. and join the Windows Insiders Program to install latest W10 preview build,.. but if it's an OEM COA your out of luck.  https://insider.wind...insider-builds/


Edited by Braegnok, 28 July 2017 - 04:35 AM.

Intel Core i7-7700K

Asus Z270-WS

Nvidia GTX1080Ti SLI

32GB DDR4 2400MHz

SeaSonic SSR-1000PD

Corsair H115i

 


#3 dling

dling

    BEER

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buchanan,GA.

Posted 28 July 2017 - 04:32 AM

Thanks. It says on the disk that its a back up disk. But it does not have anything about Gateway,which is the dead LT.

This disk came as a free upgrade from Vista when I purchased the Gateway laptop new.


Case:Cooler Master Sniper / Motherboard : ASUS x99 Sabertooth/ CPU: Intel Core i7 [email protected] / CPU HS:Corsair H100i
VGA: Nvidia 1080 TI  / Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB DDR4 2800 / SSD's:OCZ Vertex3 120g X 3 Raid 0 + Samsung EVO 840 250g for OS+WD Blue 500g
PSU: CoolMax 1200W / Monitor: Asus PG279Q @ 165 hz/ KB: CM Storm Trigger Z / Mouse: Razor Lachesis / OS: Windows 10 Home premium 64


#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 28 July 2017 - 07:09 AM

If it already has w10 pro it would be easier to just uninstall any crapware that comes with it, do it before you even connect it online, should be fine and not hard to do.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 dling

dling

    BEER

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buchanan,GA.

Posted 28 July 2017 - 07:31 AM

That's a good idea. Thanks.

Case:Cooler Master Sniper / Motherboard : ASUS x99 Sabertooth/ CPU: Intel Core i7 [email protected] / CPU HS:Corsair H100i
VGA: Nvidia 1080 TI  / Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB DDR4 2800 / SSD's:OCZ Vertex3 120g X 3 Raid 0 + Samsung EVO 840 250g for OS+WD Blue 500g
PSU: CoolMax 1200W / Monitor: Asus PG279Q @ 165 hz/ KB: CM Storm Trigger Z / Mouse: Razor Lachesis / OS: Windows 10 Home premium 64


#6 AkakmanH

AkakmanH

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, Texas

Posted 28 July 2017 - 11:28 AM

Also, once you have all of the 'crap' deleted,

you need to download and install Spybot Anti-Beacon - https://www.safer-ne...ot-anti-beacon/

It get rid of a lot of extraneous Win10 features that you do not need

You might also ant to watch Barnacules on youTube - do a search for Barnacules win 10.

Some very good videos on stopping Win10 backdoor peeking

and how to turn off Win 10 functions



#7 cchalogamer

cchalogamer

    Folding is good :)

  • Folding Member
  • 4872 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC (USA)

Posted 28 July 2017 - 03:09 PM

For reference if you want a clean OS install of Windows 10 and the PC is booting to the OS it's VERY easy to do, just open the start menu, type "reset" and choose the option to Reset this PC.  In the settings window that opens choose Get Started under Reset this PC, select the appropriate options to delete everything for a PC you plan to keep and let it do it's thing.  In about 10 mins-2 hours depending on the PC you'll have a fresh clean windows install and USUALLY all the needed drivers.  Though tools for things like advanced sound settings, keyboard LED controls, newest video drivers etc you'll want to grab for the appropriate places.

 

I know MSI has been known to bloat the crap out of their newer laptops with "helpful" "tools" so I could see going this route vs the uninstall option, My Aorus thankfully wasn't too bad with only things that actually do something installed (Like the software to control the RGB keyboard) and very easy one click ways to disable stupid features like their own custom on screen display for things like volume and screen brightness.


1zdcjtx.png

i7-5930K/GA-X99-UD4/32GB G.Skill/512GB Intel 600p/512GB Crucial M550/480GB ADATA SP550/5TB/GTX 1080 Ti/Rosewill Capstone 1000-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (main rig)

i7-4930K/GA-X79-UP4/32GB G.Skill & Team Vulcan Mixed/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/4 x 1TB/GeForce 315/Rosewill Capstone 750/Corsair Carbide 200R (VM Server)

i7-6820HK/Aorus X7 v6/16GB G.Skill/512GB Samsung SM951/1TB/GTX 1070/230w AC Adapter/94.24Wh Battery (Gaming/Fun Laptop)

i7-7500U/Razer Blade Stealth/16GB/512GB Samsung SM951/45w USB-C AC Adapter/53.6Wh Battery (Work Laptop)

i7-4770K/GA-Z87X-UD5H/16GB Kingston/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/2TB/GTX 1070/Rosewill Capstone 750-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (the wife took this one)

i5-3570K/GA-Z77X-UD5H/24GB  ADATA/120GB Crucial M500 SSD/3 x 5TB/2 x 3TB/2TB/Antec BP550/Bookshelf (server)

i5-4590/ASRock H97M-ITX-ac/8GB G.Skill/240GB OCZ ARC 100 SSD/750GB/GTX 1070/Rosewill RG630/Silverstone SG13B (HTPC)


#8 dling

dling

    BEER

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buchanan,GA.

Posted 30 July 2017 - 03:10 AM

Thats interesting. Ive never heard of that. Thanks.

 

For reference if you want a clean OS install of Windows 10 and the PC is booting to the OS it's VERY easy to do, just open the start menu, type "reset" and choose the option to Reset this PC.  In the settings window that opens choose Get Started under Reset this PC, select the appropriate options to delete everything for a PC you plan to keep and let it do it's thing.  In about 10 mins-2 hours depending on the PC you'll have a fresh clean windows install and USUALLY all the needed drivers.  Though tools for things like advanced sound settings, keyboard LED controls, newest video drivers etc you'll want to grab for the appropriate places.

 

I know MSI has been known to bloat the crap out of their newer laptops with "helpful" "tools" so I could see going this route vs the uninstall option, My Aorus thankfully wasn't too bad with only things that actually do something installed (Like the software to control the RGB keyboard) and very easy one click ways to disable stupid features like their own custom on screen display for things like volume and screen brightness.


Case:Cooler Master Sniper / Motherboard : ASUS x99 Sabertooth/ CPU: Intel Core i7 [email protected] / CPU HS:Corsair H100i
VGA: Nvidia 1080 TI  / Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB DDR4 2800 / SSD's:OCZ Vertex3 120g X 3 Raid 0 + Samsung EVO 840 250g for OS+WD Blue 500g
PSU: CoolMax 1200W / Monitor: Asus PG279Q @ 165 hz/ KB: CM Storm Trigger Z / Mouse: Razor Lachesis / OS: Windows 10 Home premium 64


#9 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3665 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 02 August 2017 - 08:43 AM

Also just an FYI I was still able to upgrade to Win10 for free with my OEM Win 7 CD key just last week.  It's as if the supposedly expired free upgrade is still active.


MSI MPower Max - 4770K - EVGA GTX1080 TI - 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 - 2x Crucial M4 256GB raid0 - Enermax 1020w - HP ZR30

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB - 17" matte display

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB - 2x Dell E228wfp

#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16211 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Between Here and There

Posted 03 August 2017 - 11:33 AM

Not that it matters much....... but I was able to roll back to my original Windows 7 Pro and activate months after having installed the Windows 10 Pro free upgrade.  The Creators Edition update totally screwed up my older laptop.  The original W10 release and the Anniversary Edition update was working flawlessly up until that point.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 cchalogamer

cchalogamer

    Folding is good :)

  • Folding Member
  • 4872 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC (USA)

Posted 04 August 2017 - 03:56 AM

Seeing as it seems to be a topic another note of what I can confirm so far from my business experiences:

 

You can still upgrade ANY windows 7 or 8 machine that currently has an activated (even non legit) copy of Windows to 10 if you use the original Windows 10 release ISO with internet disconnected.  I have not seen a single scenario across hundreds of systems where it doesn't work.  Once the Windows 10 installer updates get it online and let it activate and from then on you can just install whatever version of 10 you want (of course matching Pro or Home based on your upgrade) or just install the creators update from there.  You will no have a Windows 10 OEM key for that hardware even if you revert back to 7 or 8. If you try this method with internet active it will usually tell you your key is invalid or that that upgrade has expired.

 

An easier method if you have your windows product key and Microsoft's activation servers don't hate you is to just put in you windows 7/8 key when you install 10 and it will validate based off that.  It SHOULD work every time, but I have had some bad luck here and there with the 10 installer not recognizing the older key properly or other issues. Something like 20% of the time it's a pain. 

 

As usual it's DRM and it can be a mess but it's far better than some of my past dealings with Windows activation.  


1zdcjtx.png

i7-5930K/GA-X99-UD4/32GB G.Skill/512GB Intel 600p/512GB Crucial M550/480GB ADATA SP550/5TB/GTX 1080 Ti/Rosewill Capstone 1000-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (main rig)

i7-4930K/GA-X79-UP4/32GB G.Skill & Team Vulcan Mixed/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/4 x 1TB/GeForce 315/Rosewill Capstone 750/Corsair Carbide 200R (VM Server)

i7-6820HK/Aorus X7 v6/16GB G.Skill/512GB Samsung SM951/1TB/GTX 1070/230w AC Adapter/94.24Wh Battery (Gaming/Fun Laptop)

i7-7500U/Razer Blade Stealth/16GB/512GB Samsung SM951/45w USB-C AC Adapter/53.6Wh Battery (Work Laptop)

i7-4770K/GA-Z87X-UD5H/16GB Kingston/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/2TB/GTX 1070/Rosewill Capstone 750-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (the wife took this one)

i5-3570K/GA-Z77X-UD5H/24GB  ADATA/120GB Crucial M500 SSD/3 x 5TB/2 x 3TB/2TB/Antec BP550/Bookshelf (server)

i5-4590/ASRock H97M-ITX-ac/8GB G.Skill/240GB OCZ ARC 100 SSD/750GB/GTX 1070/Rosewill RG630/Silverstone SG13B (HTPC)