Which is better for overall performance?

Basically which is better for overall performance-wise, that I will see day to day, and in games:

1. Overclocking your CPU as high as it will go, and using the correct memory divider to overclock your RAM using the tightest settings it will use.

2. Overclocking your RAM as high as it will go 1:1, using very loose timings. And use a divider to setup your CPU. (possibly CPU not being as fast as in #1) For example, I can get up to 285FSB/RAM, but I have to divide my CPU @8.0

What are your thoughts?

Do you have any better suggestions?

no 3dmark 2k1 is the best to test ur system including memory & cpu,whilt 3dmark 2k3 & 2k5 are only GFX tests.

aslo i was in the same situation as you on using 2.5GHZ cpu with memory @ DDR420 or use 2.47GHZ with memory @ DDR450

the first gave me 20200 in 3dmark2k1 & the second gave me 20600.

so i just stayed with teh second overclock coz it's better.

I'm not an expert on this, but I can calculate that within a certain range, 100MHz extra on the CPU is worth about 1 second off in SuperPi 1M, and 200 points more in 3dmark03.

My Winchester at 2.28Ghz did Super Pi 1M in 36 seconds, whereas the Venice I'm using now at 2.65GHz does it in 31 seconds. 3dmark03 was just under 8100 before, now just under 9000.

I'm now running the RAM 10MHz faster but with 2T instead of 1T timings so I don't think this has had much to do with the improvement. If anything the new RAM settings are hurting my performance because it gets worse in Everest memory benchmark so the improvement may be even greater if I can somehow get the 1T timing working.

Whatever the case, 2.6ghz and 2T is faster than 2.2ghz and 1T for anything practical. I just need to work out where the cutoff point is and see if running the RAM with a divider to get 1T back is faster.