Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

chipsets


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 anep

anep

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuala Lumpur

Posted 09 January 2008 - 06:37 PM

does chipsets on mobo affecting the ability to overclock the fsb volt and others?
if yes, what is the best chipset that can push to the max the overclocking function on a mobo?
i'm planning to get a amd based mobo..

one more ting.. is amd based chipsets are good for overclockers?


:Main Rig:
| AMD X2 6000+ | AX78 | Kingston Hyper-X 4GB kit | Radeon HD4850 | 1.4TB Storage | Strider 560w |
| Razer Lycosa | Creative SBS 370 | acer X233H | CM 590

:Audiophiles:

Philips SBC HP250 | FiiO E5 | Creative EP-630


#2 mattwalter85

mattwalter85

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri, USA

Posted 09 January 2008 - 06:43 PM

no. go intel if you want to overclock and get a p35 mobo

Corsair Carbide Air 540 Case

Corsair AX1200i PSU

Intel 3960X Core i7 Extreme CPU

Corsair H100i GTX CPU Cooler

ASUS P9X79 Pro Motherboard

4x4gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 DDR3

ASUS R9 FURY STRIX 4GB Video Card

2 Samsung 850 EVO SSDs

Windows 7 64-bit


#3 anep

anep

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuala Lumpur

Posted 09 January 2008 - 06:45 PM

but u got am2 mobo.. :rolleyes:
i really need to built a new amd rig now..


:Main Rig:
| AMD X2 6000+ | AX78 | Kingston Hyper-X 4GB kit | Radeon HD4850 | 1.4TB Storage | Strider 560w |
| Razer Lycosa | Creative SBS 370 | acer X233H | CM 590

:Audiophiles:

Philips SBC HP250 | FiiO E5 | Creative EP-630


#4 mattwalter85

mattwalter85

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri, USA

Posted 09 January 2008 - 06:55 PM

yeah i do bud but i'm also about to build an intel rig because you can build either/or for teh same money and the intel will walk all over the amd anyday. i've been an amd fan for a long time but right now intel is on top of their game and amd is struggling to even compete

Corsair Carbide Air 540 Case

Corsair AX1200i PSU

Intel 3960X Core i7 Extreme CPU

Corsair H100i GTX CPU Cooler

ASUS P9X79 Pro Motherboard

4x4gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 DDR3

ASUS R9 FURY STRIX 4GB Video Card

2 Samsung 850 EVO SSDs

Windows 7 64-bit


#5 anep

anep

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuala Lumpur

Posted 09 January 2008 - 07:44 PM

770 amd based beats 570 rite?


:Main Rig:
| AMD X2 6000+ | AX78 | Kingston Hyper-X 4GB kit | Radeon HD4850 | 1.4TB Storage | Strider 560w |
| Razer Lycosa | Creative SBS 370 | acer X233H | CM 590

:Audiophiles:

Philips SBC HP250 | FiiO E5 | Creative EP-630


#6 philbrown23

philbrown23

    N00b for sure

  • Folding Member
  • 1413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barre, Vermont

Posted 09 January 2008 - 08:21 PM

770 amd based beats 570 rite?


yep ;) buy a black edition cpu they are killer

ASUS MAXIMUS 2 FORMULA/INTEL C2Q Q6600//8GB DDR2//ULTRA X3 1KW//HD4850-HD4850 IN CROSSFIRE// 1 WESTERN DIGITAL 500GB,1 WESTERN DIGITAL 1000GB //BENCH TABLE//WINDOWS VISTA ULTIMATE TWEAKED :D

http://valid.x86-sec...c.php?id=434759

Database Entry * Forum Wars Scores * Summer Warz Calculator


#7 bigred

bigred

    Don't even get me started

  • Folding Member
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 January 2008 - 10:44 PM

yep ;) buy a black edition cpu they are killer




what the heck???? killer next to what? another AM2 chip?



per $$$ an intel out of the box is faster, and has a higher ceiling to overclock.



also NO the AMD chipsets are not overclocking well. the nvidia chipsets are the best if you absolutely insist upon having an AM2 setup.


the ONLY, and I say again ONLY reason for an AMD chipset on a motherboard right now is for 4 card crossfire with a phenom. other than that they're useless.
Some people are like Slinkies. Totally useless, but you just can't help but laugh when you push them down the stairs.

#8 oralpain

oralpain

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 870 posts

Posted 10 January 2008 - 12:12 AM

I have to agree, at least if you are building a new system.

You can save about 10-20 dollars by going AMD if you are positive you will not OC and are willing to risk the possibilities of not ever having a worthwhile upgrade path.

I've got a 70 dollar Intel chip (Pentium E2140 @ 3.2GHz, cheap air cooling) in a DFI P35 board that currently goes for $105 and the setup is faster than any dual-core AMD you can get without sub-ambient cooling.

As for AMD chipsets and overclocking, I haven't really seen a problem with them. A good board with an AMD chipset will take the CPU to it's limit before the board craps out. NVIDIA chipsets may very well OC better on the HT bus, but this means pretty much nothing in terms of performance.

If you already have a decent AM2 CPU, go ahead and buy an inexpensive AM2 board. if you've already got an AM2 baord and need a faster CPU, go a head and buy a black edition. However, if you are building from scratch, there is virtually no reason to side with AMD at this time.

#9 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 10 January 2008 - 05:32 AM

yep ;) buy a black edition cpu they are killer

Have you seen any of these black edition CPUs clocking significantly higher than their non-black counterparts? I haven't, and on an architecture that's as "topped out" as A64, I just don't see how an unlocked multi really helps that much.

Unlocked multi is a neat thing to have, but it does not necessarily make the CPU overclock more. Usually, it just means people overclock differently (more multi than FSB) and end up at roughly the same final speed.
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."