First OCC

Omerta101

Hey guys, so this is my first build of a computer, I had a budget from what I could build! so here it is

Windows 7 64bit

Intel i7 2600k 3.4ghz Quad Core

4G DDR3 Kingston

ATI Radeon HD 6870

21.5" LED Samsung Monitor

Fatality Headset

Antec Dark Force 30 Case + Side Fan

550W PSU Cooler Master

GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 Motherboard

I would like to overclock my ATI 6870 for Battlefield 3. I can play on High settings no problems, but on Ultra is gets choppy/lags. Since i am new to overclocking, do I even have a high enough power supply? I have Sapphires Trixx installed as well. Advice would be great, thanks!!

post-80355-0-03767800-1322174126_thumb.jpg

Nice build! :thumbsup: Your PSU is enough but that's not the problem, OCing a GPU only will give you 1-10 more fps so it won't allow you to play on ultra. Also your CPU has more then enough power to handle it. If you want to play on Ultra consider upgrading your GPU.

Edited by Black6464

Omerta welcome to OCC :cheers:

You will get more help on OCing your 6870 by posting a topic over here ;) Also, you might try OCing your 2600K. But, you didn't say anything about an aftermarket cooler, are you using the stock intel heatsink? If you are then you should prob not OC the CPU much. But, OCing both the CPU and GPU should help. Like Black sd though, you still might not be able to go on Ultra settings w/o lag on a single 6870

Ah very sweet! I'm glad to hear I have enough PSU atleast, so what you are saying is I should upgrade to the ATI 6950 or higher ?? I also have the option of upgrading my ram from 4gb to 8gb for only $50. I forgot to mention my hard drive is a Seagate 7200 1TB, do you think this could be a possibility of running BF3 at Ultra or is that just loading speed?