Opinions and advice please. Phenom II x6 build

nube

Hi everyone this is my first build and I could use some advice. This is the parts list as of now. I need to add a card reader and power supply. How does this sound? What else will I need? Is this the best mother board? This comp will be used mostly for solidworks not a gaming pc. Also not sure on the case yet....Any help is much appreciated!!

AMD Phenom II X6 Six-Core Processor 1090T (3.2GHz) AM3, HDT90ZFBGRBOX (Black Edition)

Gigabyte Socket AM3/AMD 890GX/SATA3&USB3.0/A&V&GbE/ATX Motherboard GA-890GPA-UD3H

ATI FirePro V4800 1 GB DVI/2DisplayPort PCI-Express Video Card 100-505606

Komputerbay 16GB (4 X 4GB) DDR3 DIMM (240 pin) 2000MHZ PC3-16000 16 GB KIT CL 9-10-9-28 with Heatspreader for extra Cooling

SATA3-BLACK - WD 1TB 64MB 7200rpm - Western Digital

Lite-On LightScribe 24X SATA DVD+/-RW Dual Layer Drive IHAS424-98 - Retail (Black)

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler, RR-B10-212P-G1

Don't buy the motherboard!! It works horrible with the X6. Worst mistake of my build. :mfp:

Looks like your building a workstation? (Cad, photoshop, engineering)

Cooler master=great case buy. :biggrin:

Edited by Black6464

Don't buy the motherboard!! It works horrible with the X6. Worst mistake of my build

What makes you say this? I tested a Gigabyte GPA for quite a while using a 1090T and 1100T, both of which ran great and were a breeze to overclock. The VRM situation is very good and the board provides a very stable voltage, in fact its one of the best I've seen. I have absolutely no complaints about the 890GPA and for the price, you'll be hard pressed to find a better board. The 890FXA-GD65 is probably the only board I would recommend over the 890GPA in the same price range.