Getting MORE SPEED!!!!!

SBSHammond

Hi Everyone, Thanks for reading and I'll appreciate any help please, Firstly I'm really pleased to have found the Club :) I'm new to overclocking, I've recently OC clocked my i7 930 from 2.8 to 4.02 but i know it can do better. I've uped the Multiplier to 22 ( which is as high as the Bios on the X58A-UD3R MoBo will allow me to) and increased the Base Clock (BCLK) to 187. The Voltage is at just under the red @ 1.5750 or something ( just before the numbers go red in the bios) at these settings i get 4.02 out of it, if i go any further with it in either direction voltage or BCLK its unstable and crashes. is this as far as i can go or am i doing it wrong???

Thanks for any suggestions or if you just wanna say hi would be good

Steve H :cheers:

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

1.5750 vcore for a 4ghz overclock? I hope you got some serious cooling sitting on top of that chip. I sit around 1.325 vcore for my 4ghz overclock.

What are your temps? How are you testing for stability? Have you tweaked any voltages other than vcore?

you better turn that voltage down, and lower your overclock, Then you need to go do some research so that you understand, at least a little about OC.

I would agree 1.5 volts without extreme cooling is a big no no in my books. Just curious what are your temps at that voltage?

Just out of curiosity what are your temps and what are you using for cooling? And is it stable at 4.02? A minimum of 8 hours of Prime95 24 hours for full stability testing.

Thanks for replying Slick, I havent noticed the temps go above 65 C. I havent run Prime95 for that long i've run it for about an hour. I'm not sure exactly what setting i should be running? Please can you let me know? It seems to be running fine but if you say i should run it for longer then i will. just let me know what settings?

Thanks mate