PCI eXpress Frequency

eyepiz

Guest Milkshake

Based on what I've read here, it can make it unstable. But I have upped mine to 103Mhz with no problems, and it bumped my 3dmark2005 score from around 7000 and something up to 8000

Based on what I've read here, it can make it unstable. But I have upped mine to 103Mhz with no problems, and it bumped my 3dmark2005 score from around 7000 up to 8000

1000 Points! dam going to have to try that...

Guest Milkshake
thats a good one. no really

No seriously it really helped me, It could be my card I dont know, but it jumped a lot with upping the frequency. I am new at overclocking but seriously it did help. There are many things that are weird with my setup and this may be one of them, I wouldn't recommend upping the frequency but for me this is one thing that worked. It might not have been 1000 points but like I said it went from 7000 something to about 8000. And when I first got my setup before ocing I upped the pcie frequency cause I thought thats what OCs the vid card, and it gave me 500 points just like that lol. Im not trying to prove anything, just giving my insight on what happened with my card. Like I said I wouldn't recommend doing it, but with MY system it helped and only MY system.

Another thing thats weird with my system is the dividers dont work properly etc... Again my system is weird so it may be some weird exeption.

If it matters so much to you I can do a before and after pic once I get on my comp. But I'm pretty sure it helped my system achieve better scores by a lot.

Edit...

Another thing, he has an ATI, I have an NVIDIA, there may be a difference in how effective the pcie frequency is, I dont know.

Edit...

You also have an ATI so maybe thats why you don't believe it, I dont know.

Guest Milkshake

Im curious as to how it effects other setups, anyone else tried upping their pcie frequency and had great results? or no effect?