Advice Welcome

gravy

If anyone has ever had any experience overclocking a setup like mine please let me know what you can remember about how you did it.

My motherboard bios allows me to adjust it from 1000Mhz, to 1380Mhz. I think. automatically adjusts FSB and all that, or I can manually change each individually.

I have run it at 1100Mhz. fine, but after a while, I pushed it to 1200, and increased the Vcore voltage from 1.5 to 1.6 and the next time I tried to reboot it, it wouldn't load windows. I finally did get it to boot off the XP disc, but bios post said something about the internal ID of CPU not matching the something or other??????

Needless to say I had to end up resetting defaults in bios and had to reinstall windows XP Pro. At that time I had less cooling, different case, and a 230 W power supply, now I have a 400W PSU, three 80mm case fans, and better airflow.

Needless to say I am new at this, using stock cooling, which should be fine with good ventilation since this is a modest overclock, RIGHT?

Room temp is about 70 degrees. Things stay quite cool. Voltages reported by bios are very close like +12=12.70 +5=5.1 +3.3=3.4 etc.... Motherboard usually is reported in bios as around 80 degrees F and CPU usually around 104 degrees F.

Have not tried to overclock it at all since the last crash, but I have a new case, fans, and PSU so now I have the itch again.

Any suggestions or help appreciated. I find it hard to find people or info who have overclocked a Celeron 1G CPU. If anyone knows of a guide that applies please direct me. Everything I found on Celeron overclocking is about the old Celery 400's and such.

Thanks