Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Computer Shuts off randomly


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Fricken Hamster

Fricken Hamster

    New Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 08:06 PM

So this computer I build has been shutting off without warning. Then I have to wait about half a minute before I can turn it on again. It seems to happen more often when I run intensive programs such as games.

Its most likely not a software issue because it shut off when I was in the bios and I've reinstalled the operating system.

I've tried running single RAM DIMMS
I thought it might have been the motherboard so I changed the motherboard.
I've tried different graphics cards, but I doubt that could be the problem.

Right now I'm thinking the problem is with the PSU

#2 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9918 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 10 October 2012 - 09:13 PM

It's either the psu or temperature. What exactly are the specs of this system in question, as you may need more power from the psu. Alternately you may need a better cooling solution.

#3 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:43 PM

It's either the psu or temperature. What exactly are the specs of this system in question, as you may need more power from the psu. Alternately you may need a better cooling solution.

Posted Image

CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#4 Fricken Hamster

Fricken Hamster

    New Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:53 PM

The temps are always within an acceptable range. The computer has worked well for over 2 years, no changes in temperatures now from any point in the past.

#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:56 PM

Look at the PSU. Sounds like PSU problem.

boozei.gif


#6 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9918 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 11 October 2012 - 02:22 PM

Yup I agree it does sound like the psu is the culprit.

#7 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 12 October 2012 - 07:55 AM

Just so I'm not left out, and in case you haven't got the message from the 3 other users saying so, I think it's probably the PSU too :thumbsup:

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#8 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4040 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 October 2012 - 08:02 AM

How's the old GPU? When this happened to me it was with my old video card... but the PSU didn't have enough amps on the rails for it so...

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#9 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 12 October 2012 - 09:23 AM

#4 check the Power Supply :)

Also.... check and make sure that the power switch on the case is working correctly (simple thing I know, but they do wear out and can go from not working at all to just shorting out long enough to cause a shut down).
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg