Newb Building A New System

hey eveyone im pretty new at this stuff. ok well ive been doing research on newegg, tigerdirect and frozencpu. what do you think would be good choices on a system to build. im into gaming (halo, doom3, CoD) and also im a big fan of listening to music. i was wondering if you guys could give me ideas on stuff to buy. water cooling? is this a smart idea? another question even though its not in the right post section, should i go with a amd 64 or a intel P4? please help a noob in his quest for a custom computer.

go with 64, this way you are ahead of the game and do not need to update/build a new comp for a few years. Everything else is really your choice. How much money you have to spend is a big factor in your build.

If you're trying to do it somewhat low-budget, I'd recommend that you go with a Mobile Athlon XP and perhaps a DFI Ultra Infinity NFII. (though any Nforce2 Ultra 400 mobo will be great) They aren't quite as speedy as an A64 or a P4, but this would allow you to put quite a bit more money (probably about 100 bucks more) into your video card, which is what affects gaming peformance the most.

Yeah; I'd recommend getting:

Decent Case/ not cramped/compacted

EDIT: at LEAST 450+ watt PSU; and make sure the reviews are good for it too :lol:

AMD 2500+ XP/Mobile

Radeon 9800 Pro 256bit 256mb (or 256bit 128mb)

512mb ram

80gig Harddrive (Plenty for Music/Games until you get enough for another)

CD-RW drive

**CD drive

Whateva else you want/need

That'll run yah well for awhile. Then you can upgrade things from time to time.

Things I suggest upgrading later (then the others):

Sound Card

Monitor

Wat?? p4 speedy, eva unit?? I first thought p4 were better too, then i found that AMD, you can OC and plus, its much cheaper. I got my Barton a year ago for 80 bucks