Switched Careers, Change Resume?

Last October I was laid off from my job as a crane mechanic at multiple rail yards, and with nothing really being available my wife convinced me to go to school for a degree with computers. I just finished my first semester for my Bachelors in CIT, though I have not had any classes in that direct field yet because they are only available in the fall. Anyway, a friend of mine who recently graduated with the same degree has put in a good word for me with the universities IT department, and they want me to submit a resume with what computer/technology experience I have. I asked if I could list personal experience, as I have no job experience or actual training, and was told that personal experience would be accepted as well. Specifically, operating systems, hardware, networking, etc.

Currently, my resume lists information regarding my experience in regards to heavy equipment. I am trying to figure out what kind of information I should put in place of what I already have. I was thinking of cutting out one of my previous jobs and adding a section for "Computer & Technology Experience". In there I could include every Windows since 2000, building and repairing hardware, home networking, etc. Obviously, you guys don't know exactly what I could do, but I am trying to see what would be some viable experience to list. Any tips/advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Removing your non-IT jobs would create gaping holes in your resume, leaving them to wonder what you had been doing all that time. Don't remove your real-world experience. Instead, either minimize how detailed you go into them and/or try to correlate them to skills that would help you in other jobs, such as IT (eg. leadership).