PC Restarts Automatically After Overclocking

amang

Hi guys,

I am new to this overclocking process, so please bear with my questions. I recently played around with my PC by overclocking it with the following specs:

CPU Overclock: 4.5Ghz

BCLCK: 180Mhz

SPD Multiplier: 12

Memory Frequency: 2160Mhz

CPU Vcore: 1.5373V

QPI/Vtt: 1.375V

IOH Core: 1.300V

DRAM Voltage: 1.86V

I stress-tested this system with Intel Burn Test for half an hour and everything went well. However, when I left the computer for, say, downloading stuff with uTorrent or running a screensaver, the PC will automatically restarts itself.

Is there anyway for me to diagnose what causes this problem?

Thanks for your help in advance. :O

Hi guys,

I am new to this overclocking process, so please bear with my questions. I recently played around with my PC by overclocking it with the following specs:

CPU Overclock: 4.5Ghz

BCLCK: 180Mhz

SPD Multiplier: 12

Memory Frequency: 2160Mhz

CPU Vcore: 1.5373V

QPI/Vtt: 1.375V

IOH Core: 1.300V

DRAM Voltage: 1.86V

I stress-tested this system with Intel Burn Test for half an hour and everything went well. However, when I left the computer for, say, downloading stuff with uTorrent or running a screensaver, the PC will automatically restarts itself.

Is there anyway for me to diagnose what causes this problem?

Thanks for your help in advance. :O

For a final overclock, 30 minutes of testing isn't enough. You need to leave it for 12-24 hours. If it crashes before that time, then your overclock is simply not stable.

Also, Have you disabled C3 state, speed step and all the power managment features. I'm trying to remember all of them but they will cause system instability during idle and cause a system restart.

It pains me to say it but I somewhat agree with Ballist1x. I'm not much of a fan of intel burn test. I prefer occt and passing at least 4 hours of linpak with 50% free memory alocated.