E7400 o/c causing headaches!

Hello all.

I'm relatively new to all this. (The last time I attempted an overclock was on an Amiga, which involved soldering and oscillators!!) I've read through about a million guides and such on overclocking, and though I've managed to bump up my processor from 2.8Ghz to 3.15Gh (an abosolutely huge increase compared to my awesome Amiga over clock of about 10Mhz!!), I'm struggling to get it any higher.

Erm, some details may help.

Right, so. I've only touched the FSB so far, and if I can help it, I don't really want to start changing voltages. The multiplier is locked I believe (nothing in the BIOS seems to change this, so I'm presuming so) at 10.5.

I pushed the FSB up to 300 in small amounts, and 300 is as far as I can push it and still boot into Windows (Vista x64).

Temps sit at about (Core/System) 34

If you don't want to mess with voltages, then you're probably done. Overclocking generally involves setting the core voltage higher than stock. If you don't want to do that, you're going to be severely limited.

Also, seeing if your PC will boot is NOT the right way to check stability. You're asking for a lot of problems that way. Try some stress tests like Prime95 or OCCT and I bet you'll see you're pretty unstable right now.

Hi

Thanks for the quick reply.

I understand that being able to boot into the OS isn't an indication of a stable overclock. Perhaps I worded it wrong, but my current overclock is stable (according to OCCT anyway). If I push the FSB up by a few mhz, then I run into problems, and if I go as high as an extra 10mhz, I can't even boot into the OS. Sorry, I should be better at phrasing things!

I'm reluctant to play around with voltages because I'm likely to break something, and replacing parts isn't an option at the moment!!

Thanks for your help. :)