Conroe -- DDR2 Help (Big Noob)

calledminime

Hi everyone,

I am planning on buying a C2D E6600 but I've never used DDR2 RAM before and am quite confused on how it works -- I've always had an Athlon system till now and so I have no idea how overclocking is different on an Intel system.

What is really confusing to me is DDR2 speeds:

PC2-3200: DDR2-SDRAM memory stick specified to run at 200 MHz using DDR2-400 chips

PC2-4200: DDR2-SDRAM memory stick specified to run at 266 MHz using DDR2-533 chips

PC2-5300: DDR2-SDRAM memory stick specified to run at 333 MHz using DDR2-667 chips

PC2-6400: DDR2-SDRAM memory stick specified to run at 400 MHz using DDR2-800 chips

1) On my AMD system, the default FSB was 200; but is the default speed on Intel CPUs 266? That is the only way I could figure that the e6600 could clock to its standard 2400MHz.

2) How does DDR2 RAM work on an Intel system? If the default FSB is indeed 266, then should I go with PC2-4200 which also runs at that speed? What would be the purpose of getting DDR2-800 then? Since DDR2-800 runs at 400MHz does that mean that I if I could raise my FSB to 400 it would run in sync? Also, why would I get DDR2-1067 RAM?

3) Could you briefly describe the relationship of the FSB of the CPU and the RAM and how each are affected by one another? For example, in the screenshot below:

my.php?image=3dmark2001andtherestbn8.jpg

I see that the e6600's FSB has been increased to 371; yet the frequency on the RAM, with the dividers, is at 278--is this, based on the DDR2 above, really running at 556MHz (278*2)?

Thanks in advance for the help. I really want to get an understanding of how things work before I go and purchase my system.

Thanks again.