SCSI drive setup

capthowdy575

Well i came across three SCSI drives today two of them are 36gb 10,00rpm the other one is a 73gb 15,00rpm drive. I also have the SCSI card. my question is how would i setup a raid 0 setup with the two 36gb then have the 73 gb just being a single drive also i was wondering if there is a certain order you have to plug the drive in to make them work. im a really big noob when it comes to the SCSI drives thanks for the help

must have a scsi cable rated to the correct speeds of the drives, as well as a card.

for example a 2906 adaptec card will do you no good with LVD or SCA drives. you'll need the correct card and cables to do anything.

then you have to set up for termination, SCSI LUN (or ID's) on the drives and card.

well they were working when i shut of fthe computer and got them out. but i don't know if they were in a raid or not. at the bottom of the card is says AMI series 475 REV-B3 i typed it into Google and it came up with basically nothing. the cable says Planar control 20UTK 03/0CT/02 AT. then at the end of the card it says single mode LVD terminator and it has a box thing at the end that says AMP TERMINATOR.

Edited by capthowdy575

ok some quick questions can i put xp on these in a raid. also i cant find the drives for this need some help please. also does a gigabyte DS3R P35 have a 3.3v or 5v pci slot i read the link you posted but im pretty lost now. sorry for being such a noob this is the first time ever dealing with something like this.

Edited by capthowdy575

• 2 weeks later...