Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

296 Mbs down. I like


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#13 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    I am so done.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6980 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 02 June 2016 - 04:35 PM

I am supposed to get a house call from comcast tomorrow to sort out my slow speed problems. Its strange that I was getting close to 300 and now I get less than 100. One of the chat techs did a refresh or something that seemed to help temporally. I suppose I could just shove my expectations, downgrade to something slower (the 25 Mbs package worked flawlessly) and live with it.


I am DUMB, okay? Dumb as a post! Think I'm happy about it?
 
sigimage.gifCFr15LujaQwHZgiAc222zw.png

#14 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 June 2016 - 03:09 PM

We pay $87 a month after all fees for 125/13. No complaints!

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#15 MadMan

MadMan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 June 2016 - 03:27 PM

I pay 86/month for 14/1...I can upgrade to 21/1 but that requires a new modem and a price hike up to around 100/month...no other service around :(

5377270775.png

 

Its so bad that speedtest refers to it as slower rather than faster lol


Cpu: [email protected] 1.3v

Cooling: Corsair H100i

MB: Asus Sabertooth Z77

Ram: GSkill 16gb 2400mhz

Video: EVGA 980 TI Classified  GPU:1530 Mem:3930

SSD: 256gb Samsung 840 pro

PS: Corsair HX750

Case: Bitfenix Venom Window w/green lighting


#16 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 June 2016 - 04:07 PM

Make sure your router or modem doesn't have "Media Prioritization" or preferred devices set up. I have a Linksys AC1600 router that killed my speeds down from ~225-230mb all the way down to ~100-110mb. Disabled the "Media Prioritization" and it went right back to 225. Got a relatively cheap set of those gigabit Ethernet over AC adapters and now I can have a full speed Ethernet port anywhere in my house, which I use in the living room to not have to stream over WiFi.

 

Not to brag(but yea, I'm bragging :P), but I pay $50/mo for 200mb that always gives me at least 220 down :D. This is just now with Playstation Vue streaming live TV in the living room. No cable or house phone anymore - just use PS Vue middle package of 70+ channels for $35/mo, and HBO Go $15/mo(just for GoT then I cancel it!). Saves a bunch of money a month and I don't miss it one bit!!!

 

5377334755.png


Edited by Puck, 03 June 2016 - 04:15 PM.

-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#17 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    I am so done.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6980 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 03 June 2016 - 04:11 PM

I was going to make a new topic but check this out.

It seems that system specs matter for internet speed.
Comcast says: http://customer.xfin...ternet-service/

Note that the highert tiers want an i5..

On my main rig:
1307279464.png

Linux Rig:
-Computer-
Processor : 8x Intel® Xeon® CPU E5405 @ 2.00GHz
Memory : 16432MB (1609MB used)
Operating System : Ubuntu 14.04.4 LTS
User Name : jeff (Jeff)
Date/Time : Fri 03 Jun 2016 04:57:13 PM PDT

1307275124.png

And for shits and grins The Nexus 7 2013 running over 802.11a

http://www.speedtest...lt/a/1977857956
I am DUMB, okay? Dumb as a post! Think I'm happy about it?
 
sigimage.gifCFr15LujaQwHZgiAc222zw.png

#18 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 June 2016 - 04:17 PM

I think thats bogus, I don't see the system specs making one bit of difference except for the ethernet port speed or wifi card. Is your Linux rig using wifi or hardwired?


-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#19 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    I am so done.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6980 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 04 June 2016 - 01:14 AM

The linux rig it hardwired. I don't get it but I am getting that discrepancy between rigs consistently.
I am DUMB, okay? Dumb as a post! Think I'm happy about it?
 
sigimage.gifCFr15LujaQwHZgiAc222zw.png

#20 cchalogamer

cchalogamer

    Folding is good :)

  • Folding Member
  • 4895 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC (USA)

Posted 04 June 2016 - 09:27 AM

I know many speed tests sites will give an warning about the CPU not being able to keep up with my parent's connection and in the case of my old J1900 based server that was there it would peg one core @ 100% while running then.


1zdcjtx.png

i7-5930K/GA-X99-UD4/32GB G.Skill/512GB Intel 600p/512GB Crucial M550/480GB ADATA SP550/5TB/GTX 1080 Ti/Rosewill Capstone 1000-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (main rig)

i7-4930K/GA-X79-UP4/32GB G.Skill & Team Vulcan Mixed/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/4 x 1TB/GeForce 315/Rosewill Capstone 750/Corsair Carbide 200R (VM Server)

i7-6820HK/Aorus X7 v6/16GB G.Skill/512GB Samsung SM951/1TB/GTX 1070/230w AC Adapter/94.24Wh Battery (Gaming/Fun Laptop)

i7-7500U/Razer Blade Stealth/16GB/512GB Samsung SM951/45w USB-C AC Adapter/53.6Wh Battery (Work Laptop)

i7-4770K/GA-Z87X-UD5H/16GB Kingston/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/2TB/GTX 1070/Rosewill Capstone 750-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (the wife took this one)

i5-3570K/GA-Z77X-UD5H/24GB  ADATA/120GB Crucial M500 SSD/2 x 8TB/3 x 5TB/4TB/2TB/Antec BP550/Bookshelf (server)

i5-8600K/ASRock Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac/16GB Team Dark/512GB Sandisk 400 SSD/GTX 1070 Ti/EVGA Supernova 650 G1/Phanteks Evolv ITX (HTPC)


#21 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    I am so done.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6980 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 04 June 2016 - 10:42 AM

That make some sense cc. Thx
I am DUMB, okay? Dumb as a post! Think I'm happy about it?
 
sigimage.gifCFr15LujaQwHZgiAc222zw.png

#22 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 June 2016 - 05:00 PM

Do you know what the Ethernet port is? If its an old 10/100 port you will only get ~80Mbps max no matter what the ISP speed is.

 

It wont be the cable, I get within .3 Mbps going from an ancient Cat5, to Cat5e, to Cat6 back to back...all exactly the same speed.


-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#23 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    I am so done.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6980 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 05 June 2016 - 01:38 PM

Given the age its probally 10/00. I can live with it.
I am DUMB, okay? Dumb as a post! Think I'm happy about it?
 
sigimage.gifCFr15LujaQwHZgiAc222zw.png

#24 Nerm

Nerm

    OCC Beefcake

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 07 June 2016 - 09:26 AM

Nice! My home ISP just recently started offering 1Gb/25Mb for $90/month. Sooooo tempting but I don't really have a need to justify the cost (100Mb/25Mb now for $50). Personally if I was to upgrade due to work from home situations I would prefer to go with the 200Mb/200Mb business line for $200/month. I know it is a lot more expensive but the much higher upload speed is more practical for my uses. *oooh thought* I wonder if I can get work to comp it. :D


Rig #1 :: Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz :: 2x HD4850 Crossfire :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl ::

Rig #2 :: i7-3930K @ 4Ghz :: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series :: Evga GTX 670 :: Asus P9X79 Pro :: OCZ Vertex 256GB SSD ::
HTPC :: 4850e :: HD2600xt :: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H :: 1TB Storage ::
OCC Site Rules :: Site Help FAQ :: Extreme Cooling FAQ :: OCC Benchmark Team