Suggestions for a Video-Editing Rig

Rothagonithagie

so i've been running on my crappy i5 for a few years now and decided enough is enough.

i tend to spend most of the time video editing, and hours of rendering just ain't cool...

-the decision i need to make now is if i should go for a dual LGA (sr-2) mobo, or a 2011socket mobo.

-another thing is with the set-up for the harddrives, whether i should go SSD or get a few 7200rpm drives and raid them.

i lack a huge amount of knowledge in these matter.

my budget will vary around $2000 - $4000,

help is kindly appreciated :)

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

More specs about your current build.

Info on what files you are working with as well as programs.

Also link/s to site/s where you can buy.

Will all help people to get you underway with a video editing build.

Also I don't think you will need a budget of $4k hell even $2k is plenty more than enough.

another thing to consider, is this video editing being used for personal or professional use?

because if your getting paid per job, spending extra on that faster cpu etc can pay for itself rather quickly.

video rendering scales almost perfectly with the amount of power you have, so more cores are better.

if your looking at this kind of budget a intel 6 core like the 3930k would be the minimum you would run.

i am doing a dual cpu build with the new evga sr-x (successor to the sr-2) with dual 6 core xeons. im looking at the base model 6 cores which are $400 each and are 6c12t at 2 ghz. im not sure if your interested in overclocking the cpus or not. i sure am, because the higher speed ones are crazy expensive, and video rendering responds very well to speed increases.

something like a 240gb ssd with some slower hdds for data storage would be good for your uses, as uncompressed video is very large.

when you can get some more info to us it will allow us to set you on the right track.

also, welcome to the occ :cheers:

WELL,