Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Whats the best Non Windows OS other then Mac


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#25 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 30 January 2012 - 09:29 PM

This. I have been stymied at every turn in trying to learn linux. Most of my questions and problems get ridicule for noobishness and no help on the linux forums. For instance i have been stuck with a grub problem for a week and a half now and no-one on any of the three linux forums(or here for that matter) has answered helpfully. Only one guy answered and he did not even read the question, gave me a guide to editing grub 1.2 and i stated i was using 2.0.....
I really want to learn it but as andrew said it is not n00b friendly.


Try using the hirens boot cd. It is a bootable linux CD that you can kind of play around with.........a lot. I don't know exactly what your problem is (obviously) but there have been few problems I could not trouble shoot from the Hirens CD on linux Ubuntu.

#26 tazwegion

tazwegion

    Mysterious Lord of the Retro...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2725 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria, Australia

Posted 31 January 2012 - 05:44 AM

I really want to learn it but as andrew said it is not n00b friendly.



That all depends on the distribution, some have a harder learning curve than others (along with idiosyncrasies aka Fedora's free open source only policy) ;)


All I can suggest is get your hands on a boot-able version of something akin to Ubuntu and you can "play" with it and not even have to install it (or disrupt your current installation), OR better yet have a dual boot configuration permitting you to have the best of both worlds, I've been using both without issue since 2007 :thumbsup:

Edited by tazwegion, 31 January 2012 - 05:44 AM.

Posted Image

#27 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 31 January 2012 - 06:05 AM

Setting up a dual-boot might be harder than some people care to mess with first-round. I'd suggest getting an old machine (or just an old HDD) to install some flavor of Linux on if you want to mess around with it.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#28 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 31 January 2012 - 07:06 AM

I definitely agree that Ubuntu is very easy, but it's almost too easy.
It seems to take away the learning that usually encompasses getting Linux up and running.
(what don't I bitch about?)

If I were to get into Linux I'd want to learn enough about it to become as proficient in it as I am in Windows.
I couldn't use an OS if I didn't know how to configure it.
It'd be hard for me to undo 15 years of Windows commands.
:lol:

Which is why it's a very good idea as some of you have said, to get a spare machine and play with it on there untill you know what you're doing.

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#29 tazwegion

tazwegion

    Mysterious Lord of the Retro...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2725 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria, Australia

Posted 31 January 2012 - 03:24 PM

Setting up a dual-boot might be harder than some people care to mess with first-round.


Then you're doing it wrong :yucky:


It may just be my preference, but I use 2 HDDs for a dual boot (installing an OS with the second drive disconnected) configuration choosing which drive I'll use (and ultimately OS) during POST at the boot menu ;)




I'd suggest getting an old machine (or just an old HDD) to install some flavor of Linux on if you want to mess around with it.


Worthy suggestion but not always practical for space limited (and cash strapped) individuals ;)
Posted Image

#30 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 31 January 2012 - 03:47 PM

Then you're doing it wrong :yucky:


It may just be my preference, but I use 2 HDDs for a dual boot (installing an OS with the second drive disconnected) configuration choosing which drive I'll use (and ultimately OS) during POST at the boot menu ;)

That's what I do, which is why I mentioned using an old HDD. :P

Posted Image

Booyah.


#31 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 31 January 2012 - 06:14 PM

Setting up a dual-boot might be harder than some people care to mess with first-round. I'd suggest getting an old machine (or just an old HDD) to install some flavor of Linux on if you want to mess around with it.

Thats what i have, and its running ubuntu, but grub is screwed up and remains screwed up throught 4 reinstalls. My thread for the problem is here.
I also have an ubuntu desktop vm that runs fine.

Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#32 tazwegion

tazwegion

    Mysterious Lord of the Retro...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2725 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria, Australia

Posted 31 January 2012 - 06:14 PM

That's what I do, which is why I mentioned using an old HDD. :P



Yes you did didn't you... I was focusing on the second rig response :P
Posted Image

#33 Fogel

Fogel

    Vengeance shall be Mine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 09 March 2012 - 02:10 PM

Required reading :P

#34 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 10 March 2012 - 05:59 PM

Required reading :P



Lol, Amung my many windows machines I do have a Mac Pro (Lepard loaded I think) and an old Shuttle system with Ubuntu loaded on it that I rarely play with..


Posted Image

#35 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 02 April 2012 - 06:41 PM

Required reading :P



I knwo this is sort of brining back an old post, but this is the funniest thing I have read in a long time. Nice find, and I will be sure to find some lucky socks. :lol:

#36 Sanosuke_Sagara

Sanosuke_Sagara

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 02 April 2012 - 08:14 PM

I been using Lubuntu for the past 1 year, and Ubuntu for the past 2 years BEFORE THAT... everything works with linux.. you just gotta know how to Google guides and such.. such as sound issues and videocard issues.. and graphics acceleration issues for videos. If you just need something for like webbrowsing... watching videos... bit-torrent, and general utility applications then Ubuntu or any of the ubuntu's work perfect.

if you like Videogames.. and Itunes... you gotta use windows or MacOS..it sucks.. but i will be having a return to windows within the next few days because I need something to play Diablo3 and Starcraft 2... if it wasn't for those 2 games I would have stuck with Linux OS's forever... Most of the commands on ANY of the ubuntus these days are like on forums.. and are quoted perfectly.. so you still never need to learn the commands... you basically just go to a forum.. and pretyt much copy and paste it in there to get your sound to work.. or to get some hardware issue resolved.

Edited by Sanosuke_Sagara, 02 April 2012 - 08:30 PM.

Rig #1 OC: 2.415Ghz | AMD Athlon Barton 2800+ @ Vcore: 1.925V/Multi:11.5 | PC-2700@ 2-2-2-11 @ 210FSB |
Rig #2 AMD A8-3870k @ 3.1Ghz