Jump to content


Photo

Creative X-Fi Titanium (SB0880)


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 xPETEZx

xPETEZx

    .:!!MEAT!!:.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2084 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West London, UK

Posted 13 January 2012 - 02:27 PM

So I got hold of a Creative X-Fi Titanium OEM. (Out of a pre-built dell)

It has pin-outs for HDMI and can do DTS interactive encoding, so I though PERFECT! Pop this into my media PC, connect the HDMI pinout to my GPU and I should be able to get true surround sound in games on my home theater!

Well, the good news, the hardware appears to be fine. (Connected the SDIF cable, and get signal) but the software side is NOT. I cannot get this card to properly install.

I have spent the last 2 nights trying everything I can think of to get the drivers to properly install, but no luck.

The problem is, none of the creative control software will detect the card. The card shows up in device manager. In Playback devices it only shows the digital outputs. (SPDIF & HDMI) but neither work. The card does not show its analog outputs.

Here is what I have tried:
Latest drivers from Creative's website.
PID detection fix pack from Creatives site. (Claims I dont have the card installed)
PAX drivers. (found topics suggesting this would work)
Dell drivers. (Dell has an older package listed on there site)
Disable on-board audio
clean off all drivers with Driver cleaner pro and try again.

All end in the exact same situation.

I have found many topics on Google of people having the same problem, but most end without a solution or end with the person using the original CD that came with the card and it somehow working.
Anybody have an X-Fi Titanium working on Windows 7 x64?
If so, what did you have to do to make it work? (Please don't say use the driver CD!! :doh: )

I have tried searching for an ISO of the drivers CD, but been unsucessful!
Any help would be appreciated! Would be great to get this thing working. Just glad I did NOT pay for this! Was considering putting it in my main rig first! Glad I stuck with the D2 :D

Main: | Win 7 Pro x64 | C2Q Q9550 @ 3.4 | 8GB OCZ Reaper | 2x Sapphire HD5850 1GB in CFX | ASUS P5Q-E | Creative X-Fi | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | Corsair HX750W | Logitech G15 + G5 + Z5500 | 2x Dell 2007FP |

Media: | Win 8.1 Pro x64 | C2Q Q6600 | 4GB Corsair Dominator | Gainward GTS250 512MB | Intel DP35DP | Samsung SSD 256GB | ASUS Xonar D2 | PC Power & Cooling 610W | Antec Veris | Onyko TX-NR515 + Tanoy SFX5.1 | Sharp LC32U700e |

Server: | Win 8.1 Pro x64 | i5 - 4430 | 16GB Corsair XMS3 | Gigabyte Z87-HD3 | Corsair RM550 | Kingston 128GB | Corsair Neutron 256GB | 4x 1TB Samsung F3 (2x RAID1) | Samsung F4 2TB (Backups) |


#2 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 13 January 2012 - 06:53 PM

tried using the card's Optical out with a Toslink cable then connect it into your A/V receiver Optical in(home theater amp)?

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#3 xPETEZx

xPETEZx

    .:!!MEAT!!:.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2084 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West London, UK

Posted 14 January 2012 - 02:33 AM

Yup.

Problem is I cant open the Console to tell the sound card to output over Optical. When I set it up in "playback devices" and then press "Test" it says "failed to play test tone"

I just tried the card in a Windows 7 x86 PC, and it all worked flawlessly. First time install, and everything showed up as it should. So I know the hardware is fine. Its the 64 bit thats causing problems. :(

Main: | Win 7 Pro x64 | C2Q Q9550 @ 3.4 | 8GB OCZ Reaper | 2x Sapphire HD5850 1GB in CFX | ASUS P5Q-E | Creative X-Fi | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | Corsair HX750W | Logitech G15 + G5 + Z5500 | 2x Dell 2007FP |

Media: | Win 8.1 Pro x64 | C2Q Q6600 | 4GB Corsair Dominator | Gainward GTS250 512MB | Intel DP35DP | Samsung SSD 256GB | ASUS Xonar D2 | PC Power & Cooling 610W | Antec Veris | Onyko TX-NR515 + Tanoy SFX5.1 | Sharp LC32U700e |

Server: | Win 8.1 Pro x64 | i5 - 4430 | 16GB Corsair XMS3 | Gigabyte Z87-HD3 | Corsair RM550 | Kingston 128GB | Corsair Neutron 256GB | 4x 1TB Samsung F3 (2x RAID1) | Samsung F4 2TB (Backups) |


#4 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 14 January 2012 - 04:08 AM

have you tried this?

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#5 xPETEZx

xPETEZx

    .:!!MEAT!!:.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2084 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West London, UK

Posted 14 January 2012 - 09:05 AM

You are a hero!
That worked!!!


Now... a new question:

Whats going to give me better sound:

Set the X-Fi to DTS Connect. (This means EVERYTHING is encoded into DTS and then passed to my AMP. My amp then just takes the signal as is, and plays it out)
Set the X-Fi to just SPDIF (essentially no better than on-board) (This would mean anything NOT encoded in DTS/DD is passed to the AMP in PCM, at this point the amp automatically does the surround simulation.)

So, the question is:

Which does better surround emulation on 2 channel audio?
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Onkyo TX-NR509

The advantage of using the X-Fi encode, is I now get true surround for games. As these where multi-channel but not encoded. For everything else I am not sure whats better. Hence the question.
Hope this makes sense! :)

Edited by xPETEZx, 14 January 2012 - 10:24 AM.

Main: | Win 7 Pro x64 | C2Q Q9550 @ 3.4 | 8GB OCZ Reaper | 2x Sapphire HD5850 1GB in CFX | ASUS P5Q-E | Creative X-Fi | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | Corsair HX750W | Logitech G15 + G5 + Z5500 | 2x Dell 2007FP |

Media: | Win 8.1 Pro x64 | C2Q Q6600 | 4GB Corsair Dominator | Gainward GTS250 512MB | Intel DP35DP | Samsung SSD 256GB | ASUS Xonar D2 | PC Power & Cooling 610W | Antec Veris | Onyko TX-NR515 + Tanoy SFX5.1 | Sharp LC32U700e |

Server: | Win 8.1 Pro x64 | i5 - 4430 | 16GB Corsair XMS3 | Gigabyte Z87-HD3 | Corsair RM550 | Kingston 128GB | Corsair Neutron 256GB | 4x 1TB Samsung F3 (2x RAID1) | Samsung F4 2TB (Backups) |


#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 14 January 2012 - 03:58 PM

Daniel K is nothing short of genius on those driver packs. During the beta and RC phases of Win7 he was the only one who could put together an x64 driver pack for Win7 and the Creative x-Fi cards. I didn't know he was still busy at it, but kudos to him.
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 14 January 2012 - 04:01 PM

I've got the exact same sound card as you in my HTPC (a fire sale find on ebay :))

I've got my output set to SPDIF and let my A/V receiver do the decoding. IMHO it sounds better and I'm pretty sure that my A/V receiver has better DACs than my sound card does.
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#8 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 14 January 2012 - 05:49 PM

Set the X-Fi to DTS Connect. (This means EVERYTHING is encoded into DTS and then passed to my AMP. My amp then just takes the signal as is, and plays it out)


^the way it should be.


Which does better surround emulation on 2 channel audio?
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Onkyo TX-NR509


it's Xi-Fi + Onkyo either ftw, just play around with your settings for proper speaker configurations.

enjoy! :cheers:

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#9 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5269 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 January 2012 - 07:38 PM

Don't ask us just test both and run a few different things ie classical music with lots of highs and rich sounds some rock and then some rave music dubstep anything to test your speakers in all sorts of ways. Finally run a silent cd to test for system noise. Repeated for both you will discover yourself which you like more and which sounds and works better for you.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#10 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 14 January 2012 - 08:01 PM

Don't ask us just test both and run a few different things ie classical music with lots of highs and rich sounds some rock and then some rave music dubstep anything to test your speakers in all sorts of ways. Finally run a silent cd to test for system noise. Repeated for both you will discover yourself which you like more and which sounds and works better for you.


+1
and playing the music which you are most familiar with is the best/easy way doing it, and your ears will be the final judge.

been waiting for you with this Stoner! :biggrin:

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 January 2012 - 01:50 AM

So, the question is:

Which does better surround emulation on 2 channel audio?
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Onkyo TX-NR509


X-Fi FTW!!

boozei.gif


#12 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5269 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 15 January 2012 - 02:17 AM

X-Fi FTW!!

X-Fi for EAX. If using the simulated effects although this has nothing to do with 3D positional audio and you will not get positional surround audio from a stereo source only speaker fill.
Although for speaker fill either will do nicely but as pointed out before you may likely find the DACs in the onkyo amp to be better being a less noisy environment. Although they spec out the same as the soundcard as 24bit DACs with a 192kHz sampling rate.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU