Jump to content


Photo

FAH Affinity Setter


  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#1 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 10 August 2008 - 03:18 PM

I am sick of setting affinity for my 3 FAH clients so I made a small program that sits in the system tray & periodically checks affinty for FAH clients. If the affinity has changed (ie. New WU) then it sets it back to the users prefered setting. At the moment it only supports the GPU2 client, the single client cores 81/82 & a VMware virtual machine which u may be running FAH on. It doesn't matter what client is running on a VMware it will Still work. It has currently been tested only on the rig in my sig. Running vista 32 with .Net 3.0. It should also work with XP, .Net 2.0 & Dual core CPUs but these have not yet been tested.

I would be greatful if u guys would try it on ur machines. I would definetly not put a virus in it but to be sure, scan it with ur Antivirus first if u wish. The interface is self explanatory. If u find any bugs, problems or suggestions please tell me so i can correct them.

Update (05 Jul 09, see change log for info): New version released (1.16)
FAH Manager 1.16 (28.6KB, .ZIP)

There are now *.cores files that should be kept in the same directory as the FAH Manager.exe. These files contain the core name, eg. FahCore_11. If you come across a new core, add it to the appropriate file proceeded by a comma (no spaces). Have a look at the default files if you are not sure what I mean (use notepad to open them).

Edited by AJW256, 05 July 2009 - 03:11 AM.

2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#2 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 10 August 2008 - 10:38 PM

I'm about to try this out. :)

Edit: can you please explain how this is supposed to work? the taskbar icon does not do anything.

Edit2: Now a context menu pops up when I right click the taskbar icon but I just get an hourglass / spiny thing. Then the program crashes.

I readme would be great.

Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image

#3 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 10 August 2008 - 11:40 PM

Are u running Vista 64? If so I don't thinkl it will work.
2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#4 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 10 August 2008 - 11:48 PM

yep vista x64. I messed with the compatibility settings and that did not help :( Can the app be ported to 64 bit with minimal effort?

Also I think its great that you are making this. I (and I'm sure many other people) have been looking for an automatic was to set the affinity for the client(s) for a long time.

Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image

#5 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 10 August 2008 - 11:54 PM

I will do some research for 64-bit to see if I can get it to work. I never programmed for x64 before but I'm sure I can manage it. :)
2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#6 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 11 August 2008 - 01:20 AM

I have rezipped the app with the 32-bit .Net DLLs.
If u unzip all the files in the zip to the same folder & run the .exe hopefully it will work.


2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#7 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 11 August 2008 - 02:04 AM

still no joy. :(

Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image

#8 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 11 August 2008 - 02:20 AM

The only way to do it without going native x64 would be to uninstall the x64 .Net Framework & install the x86 Version which means that any x64 program using .Net would crash.
2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#9 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 11 August 2008 - 06:20 AM

Huh works perfectly fine for me on vista x64. :huh:

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#10 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 11 August 2008 - 07:29 AM

@ Compxpert, which version of the .Net Framework do u have. This could be injijagwalaafq's problem.
2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#11 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 11 August 2008 - 10:17 AM

Using version 3.5.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#12 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 11 August 2008 - 11:02 AM

Hmm, I'm not sure what version I have. I think its v3. I'll update it after work and mess around with this some more.

Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image