Video card shot?

WarWeeny

So I wanted to install a game for my sister and I forgot what gpu she had in her laptop, so I downloaded GPU-Z and wanted to check it.

Upon opening GPU-Z, I got an error saying it doesn't work anymore and closed by itself.

After re-opening GPU-Z, I got the following errors:

BJk7gB2.png

And this one:

I6FwFqh.png

After that, I got a real shocker when GPU-Z finally opened up.

m4XapKq.gif

pXElHMk.gif

Well, I am no expert on GPU's, but that isn't good. xD

When I install the AMD drivers from their website (I choose "recognize and install drivers" option) i get an error (after installing) that the drivers that were installed, were not the correct ones for my GPU. :wacko:

Now I get a dark brown feeling that the AMD card is a bit broken.

When i open up an emulator for example, I cannot choose the graphics card as well, so this got me worried and I thought I drop the problem here to see what is up.

The laptop has 2 gpu's btw, an intel HD4000 and the AMD 7670M.

The Intel HD is getting recognized, but the AMD isn't (while it did back when there was nothing wrong with it).

i am not sure if there is still a warranty on the laptop, but i doubt it is something i can fix by myself.

So...anyone knows if the card is dead or not?

I get it with my laptop that has an iGPU and mobile AMD GPU. I don't think GPU-Z supports mobile GPU's?

Well, the thing is, it did when she just got the laptop new, and we didn't change any drivers or anything to the laptop since then.

So this raised my suspicion of a shot card.

Yea, by the values it shows, it looks like the acquisition is not good, which is typical for not compatible GPUs. I tried GPU-z on my APU CFX laptop and there are a lot of missing fields, and memory usage stays at zero. To me, there is nothing wrong with the laptop.