Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Going to be installing an SSD, help me set it up.


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:37 AM

I know there is guides all over the internet, but I wanted to ask you guys on here.

 

I bought an OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD and just for shits and giggles I bought a Sata III PCI-e card.

 

Whats the first thing I should do when I get the SSD?

 

Anything special to do as I install windows 7 onto it?


ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#2 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:44 AM

If it were me I'd likely forego the use of the PCIe card interface and just connect it to the Intel controller.  Using the stand-alone PCIe card you will probably lose TRIM capability and your boot time will be longer (if either of those matter).

 

If you connect it to the Intel controller there isn't much you need to do.  Windows 7 will have a native AHCI driver that will get the rig up and running.  Windows 7 will also properly align the SSD during formatting and installation.

 

You'll want to make sure that your storage controller is set to AHCI in the BIOS.

 

After Windows 7 is installed and updated you might consider installing the Intel RST driver - but that isn't a necessity.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#3 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:52 AM

If it were me I'd likely forego the use of the PCIe card interface and just connect it to the Intel controller.  Using the stand-alone PCIe card you will probably lose TRIM capability and your boot time will be longer (if either of those matter).
 
If you connect it to the Intel controller there isn't much you need to do.  Windows 7 will have a native AHCI driver that will get the rig up and running.  Windows 7 will also properly align the SSD during formatting and installation.
 
You'll want to make sure that your storage controller is set to AHCI in the BIOS.
 
After Windows 7 is installed and updated you might consider installing the Intel RST driver - but that isn't a necessity.

The only reason I bought it is because my motherboard is only SATA II, is that really going to matter?
 
I can cancel the order.  :dunno:

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#4 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 17 June 2013 - 07:13 AM

Using SATA II you won't hit the advertised speed claims of the SSD, but the Intel controller is usually worlds better at everything else that truly matters.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#5 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 07:43 AM

Well then, that saves me $25 there, thanks.

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#6 phil69

phil69

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cook County

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:04 AM

I followed what it said here and I had no problems. I have the 120GB and windows7 experience score went up to 7.9

 

http://ocz.com/consu...-to-install-ssd


Edited by phil69, 17 June 2013 - 08:05 AM.

Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, AMD Phenom II X6 1055,
BIOS 1301, Xigmatek Gaia, Corsair 8GB Dominator CMD8GX3M4A1333C7,
MSI R5750 MD1G,
WD Caviar Black 1 TB Sata III, Antec P183 Case, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

#7 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:01 PM

Aight, I'll have to try that.

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#8 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 22 June 2013 - 07:56 AM

Got everything installed and setup.

 

It seems faster, but considering I came from an 8 year old 200GB OS drive I would certainly hope so.


ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#9 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 22 June 2013 - 09:17 AM

you got a agility 3 those don't hit 300mb/s anyways , so yes the pcie is a waste of money.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.4ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, GTX Titan, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#10 phil69

phil69

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cook County

Posted 22 June 2013 - 09:19 AM

The best part of a SSD is you won't grow mold waiting for windows to start.


Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, AMD Phenom II X6 1055,
BIOS 1301, Xigmatek Gaia, Corsair 8GB Dominator CMD8GX3M4A1333C7,
MSI R5750 MD1G,
WD Caviar Black 1 TB Sata III, Antec P183 Case, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

#11 phil69

phil69

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cook County

Posted 22 June 2013 - 09:20 AM

And it's quiet.


Edited by phil69, 22 June 2013 - 09:22 AM.

Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, AMD Phenom II X6 1055,
BIOS 1301, Xigmatek Gaia, Corsair 8GB Dominator CMD8GX3M4A1333C7,
MSI R5750 MD1G,
WD Caviar Black 1 TB Sata III, Antec P183 Case, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

#12 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 22 June 2013 - 09:45 AM

you got a agility 3 those don't hit 300mb/s anyways , so yes the pcie is a waste of money.

I ended up with a Samsung 830 instead.


ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler