Help needed to pick a video card

Blankman

Hi this is my first time post it a secret though

any way I recently purcahsed a Lanparty for my first build. And was wondering what graphic card I should choose. I'm a serious gamer but not as far as computers are concerned at least not yet. I'm looking at getting a 9600XT simply because its the most easily available. As a side note I plan on getting X800 maybe when it goes AGP.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Either one will serve you well. If you can wait for the X800 AGP solution, I would spend as little money as possible on the first card.

Get something that will run your games at lower settings and save your money. As long as the card has 128MB RAM and supports DX9 you'll be OK. You can save almost 50% versus the cost of the 9600XT.

Once you're done with the first card you can either hold on to it or sell it without taking a big hit to the wallet.

it all depends on what your willing to spend, and also maybe your preference as to ati or nvidia as to what you should get. don't know why you would worry about waiting on an agp version of the card, there's plenty of other selection to be had.

I think the guys gave you some great advice. :)

But there is Not a bit of hesitation in my mind.

I'd go with an ATI X800 and flash the bios to an XT-PE.

should have no problem at 500/540 and probably get a lot higher with proper cooling.

It'll match your rig perfectly and you'll be smiling from ear to ear.

$359 after shopping cart special at www.ecost.com

(tip O the hat to VJ for that)

nvidia's 6800 series is the way to go for doom3. The x800 seems to run better in hl2 and the 6800's work better in doom3. I would base my purchase on which type of game i'm more into. Are you a hard core doom3 player?? :) Either is a good choice, but you can get a better deal with a 6800 than paying an arm and a leg for a x800.