Nooby Question

foamy654

i was goin to buy a athlon64 4000+ san diago and i was wondering ho whard it would be to overclock im also geting a dfi lanparty sli,4gigs ocz plat ram, pc power and cooling somthiing not sure yet, and 2 evga 6800gt 512mb SLI'ed

im completely new to overclocking i only understand a little bit

thanks

Edited by foamy654

:blink: ok i looked that over about 5 times and this will sound stupid but ether that hasnt been updated and the athlon64's are newer or there already unlocked i can build computers but this is were im not to bright and like the topic said *nooby question* and do you need to do the pencil trick on the 64's or is there somthing else i can use that does better?

:smack:

First off, why 4 gigs of ram? 2 is more than enough for the most part. Also, there are MUCH better cards to put in there besides the 512mb 6800's. I'd rather have 2 7800 GT's than those. But, it's your money, spend it whatever way you want. There are all kinds of OCing FAQ's all over the net that will help you, as long as you read the WHOLE thing. Good luck.

There are all kinds of OCing FAQ's all over the net that will help you, as long as you read the WHOLE thing.

583321[/snapback]

yeah, just download the internet and print it out and have a good read :lol:

i was goin to buy a athlon64 4000+ san diago and i was wondering ho whard it would be to overclock im also geting a dfi lanparty sli,4gigs ocz plat ram, pc power and cooling somthiing not sure yet, and 2 evga 6800gt 512mb SLI'ed

im completely new to overclocking i only understand a little bit

thanks

583047[/snapback]

Wow if you got the money to get those 512 6800gt's why not just go with 1 512mb 7800! I would think that you would be happier with that. And yes that 4 gigs of ram (WAY OVERKILL).

• 2 weeks later...