Xp And Modem Installation

kwantrol

hi folks. I'm new to this forum. I'm not a complete novice with hardware and software, but when I received my Creative Modem Blaster from Newegg.com . . . I couldn't get one to work with the other. I am running XP on an Athlon Thunderbird machine. I physically installed the hardware in the PCI slot (even moved it a few times) but was unable to continue further with the driver installation. a PCI Communications error notifies me that "the data is invalid". I have come to the conclusion that I am either lacking the proper drivers or settings in XP won't allow for the installation. I'm at a total loss. It's rather frustrating to be 1 of a dying breed of dial-up users, even moreso when a simple process is now arduous.

:withstupid: Creative XP drivers would be your best bet, plus if I'm not mistaken modems still require being on comm 2? Its scary now that I've thought about it, how long its been since I've even seen a modem... :blink:

ok. I do believe there is a conflict. I have an NIC, Creative Live! card, and Leadtek GeForce 3 in my slots. I don't think the GF3 is the cause since it doesn't use a PCI slot. The drivers were not the problem. Also, the updated drivers were still "digitally unsigned'. Not that it matters, since Creative says to continue with installation. I don't know how to mess with my IRQ settings (Interrupt Relay something?). I was also thinking of messing with the Registry, but then I thought it too risky. Still in dire need of tech support. oh, and I've got XP Professional . . . not that it matters.

Actually.. Your best bet.. RMA that thing buy ur self a US Robotics..

I can tell you right now.. Creative Modems.. Nothing but problems..

I tryed installing one on my friend XP 1600 GF3 Ti200 128mb ram.. etc. etc..

It dident take..

I told him to get a new modem.. Us robotics.. took it back.. got the new modem slaped it in himself.. and after he installed the drivers.. walaa he was online..