Jump to content


Photo

Error 0x80070057 when installing windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:19 AM

Hey guys, putting together my lan system, and when I try to install windows 7 onto my ssd (vertex 2 120 gig) I get an error with the code 0x80070057 preventing me from installing.

This occurs on two working computers, and this ssd previously lived its life in a Mac Book pro, so was formatted for osx

Any ideas? This is the first time in a long time that I have been completely stumped when building a computer

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#2 davemonkey

davemonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:46 AM

have you tried letting windows delete the partition , and create a new one then formatting ? i know when i installed win 7 on mine it was picky about deleting the partition first and creating a new one
amd phenom ii x2 550 black edition overclocked to 3.6 GHZ
gigabyte ga-m57 sli mobo
cooler master centurion ii case
6 gig corsair extreme 2 memory
Palit gtx 650 oc

#3 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:48 AM

Yep, have tried deleting and formatting in both the installation menu plus on another computer using the windows partition manager

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#4 davemonkey

davemonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:57 AM

i have found this http://support.micro....com/kb/2476568 , also have you tried the ssd in another computer and tried to install windows?
amd phenom ii x2 550 black edition overclocked to 3.6 GHZ
gigabyte ga-m57 sli mobo
cooler master centurion ii case
6 gig corsair extreme 2 memory
Palit gtx 650 oc

#5 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:00 AM

Yes, I first did a large google trawl and it turned up nothing. As I said in the op, i tried install on two working computers, both which I installed win7 on before, removed other drives then tried this

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:00 AM

Mucho, what motherboard are you running and what Intel chipset does it have?
Are you running the latest firmware version on the SSD?
Have you ran Memtest pre Windows install to make sure there aren't any errors there?
And other hard drives connected to controllers while you are attempting the installation onto the SSD?
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#7 davemonkey

davemonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:06 AM

try this , find a formatting utility and delete the partition and format , then try again , also did you use the same sata cable on the other 2 computers when installing as i think i remember some one else having a similar problem and it was the sata cable . if you cannot get it to work it may be the ssd has a fault ?
k
amd phenom ii x2 550 black edition overclocked to 3.6 GHZ
gigabyte ga-m57 sli mobo
cooler master centurion ii case
6 gig corsair extreme 2 memory
Palit gtx 650 oc

#8 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:07 AM

Hey wev,

Mobo chip sets are c206 (server 1155), p67 (main rig) and whatever chipset celeron d runs (htpc)

Firmware is up to date,

All systems run perfectly fine, but will not allow installation onto this ssd

Hdds were connected to my main rig, but the other two only had the ssd

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#9 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:09 AM

Have done multiple formats and deletes on two systems, using different cables.

This ssd works fine with data, can copy files two and from it without issue. But will not let windows install

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#10 davemonkey

davemonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:16 AM

it sounds like it might not be letting windows modify the boot sector or reserved space on the ssd , i strongly recommend an aftermarket formatting utility , also try the manufacturers website for any tools for checking the health of the drive , i think the clue is in the fact it was used in an osx system and it might be a hidden or locked partition giving you problems , hope this helps :wave:
amd phenom ii x2 550 black edition overclocked to 3.6 GHZ
gigabyte ga-m57 sli mobo
cooler master centurion ii case
6 gig corsair extreme 2 memory
Palit gtx 650 oc

#11 ahamling27

ahamling27

    New Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wichita, KS

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:50 AM

I would boot into the windows recovery screen from the W7 disc and make your way to the command prompt. Then run DISKPART. You can get a list of commands here: http://technet.micro...5(v=WS.10).aspx

But I would select your ssd then list the partitions, you might have a hidden boot/recovery partition that won't be deleted when you format in windows. DiskPart should allow you to delete all the partitions. I hope that helps.

Edited by ahamling27, 27 June 2012 - 03:04 PM.


#12 Nephilumos

Nephilumos

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 27 June 2012 - 09:17 AM

Also, I remember getting an error once upon a time when trying to install windows to a regular hard drive and it just wouldn't let me. It was because it didn't like my OC that was running on the computer. When I brought everything down to stock it installed fine. Probably won't help you in this case, but I figured it couldn't hurt either.

Edited by Nephilumos, 27 June 2012 - 09:17 AM.

I refuse to cook poop with a computer...thanks

Main Rig:
Antec 1200
Asus Maximus VI Hero
i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz w/HT
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz RAM
EVGA GTX670 4GB

Corsair H100i
Corsair Enthusiast 850w PSU

Heatware