routine maintenance for SSD

nice_shoes

I've been using my SSD, Crucial C300 64GB, for many months and it works fine. However, I looked at the drive "properties" popup window and have a couple questions:

• there is a checkbox on the properties popup window that says "Compress this drive to save disk space"................should I do this?
  • I think that a defragmentation is not recommended for an SSD, but there is a button on the properties popup window that says "Disk Cleanup".............should I do this?
  • OR, does the TRIM feature eliminate the need for doing these things?

I would never compress a drive to save space. That would significantly reduce your performance as your cpu has to unzip everything before it can be read. If you need more space, you need to buy another HDD or SSD.

Also, you are correct in thinking that you should never defragemnt an SSD. However, you can perform the disk cleanup, but I and many others on OCC recommend using CCleaner instead of disk cleanup. It does a much more thorough job, and it also includes a registry cleaner that helps keep your system speedy.

It is my understanding that the TRIM feature only works to reduce "wear" on the drive by spreading out the writes to previously un-written sectors of the drive. This method helps extend the "like new" performance of the SSD.