[Solved] Opinions on my build

Gudafa

Hello everybody!

I'm a first-time builder and my goal is a somewhat high-end gaming system for at least such current games as Battlefield 3 and Skyrim. After a few days of googling and pondering, I have put up a list of parts and I would like your opinions and advice on it!

Without further ado, the parts are...

Case: Fractal Design Core 3000 (59.90€ / $76)

Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX (119€ / $151)

CPU: Intel i5-3570k (226€ / $287)

GPU: Asus GTX 670 DirectCU II (429€ / $546) (drool... :teehee: )

PSU: Corsair AX650W (139.90€ / $178)

RAM: Kingston HyperX 2x4GB @ 1600MHz (49€ / $62)

HDD: Seagate 2TB Barracuda, SATA III, 7200rpm, 64MB (112€ / $142)

DVD Drive: Asus DRW-24B5ST (21.90€ / $28)

TOTAL: 1265.70€ / $1610

The euro prices are exact; the prices in dollars were converted with google for reference. Keep in mind though, that the prices here (Finland) are usually more than in the USA, for example...

Although I won't be overlocking (perhaps I should have used a different forum then, heh), I was thinking of replacing the stock CPU cooler (although no mention of it, I THINK it comes with the processor...), possibly with Cooler Master's Hyper 212 EVO (30.90€ / $39).

Oh, also, my budget... I could possibly manage with max. 1400€ / $1780, but I'd prefer to keep it under 1300€ / $1654...

I would have liked a SSD, but ... Perhaps I could change the HDD to a smaller version, like the same I have listed, but in a 500GB version saving 42€ / $53 and buy more space later. However, the 500GB version has a 16MB cache (vs. 64MB on the other), would that have much effect if it would be used for mostly storage of media? Now browsing, I see 2.5" and 3.5" sized SSDs, but it seems this particular case would only fit the 3.5" ones, unless there are some adapters like in Kingston's 120GB HyperX 3K SSD (€149 / $190) there seems to be...

Well, it seems I had more questions than I thought... Any input would be immensely appreciated!