Overclocking Q8200

lzgr

I have:

MB: ASUS P5QL

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200

RAM: 2x kingston KHX6400D2/2G

GPU: nVidia GeForce 9800 GT 512mb RAM

HDD:Western Digital WD6400AAKS (640gb)

I want to overclock my CPU and i want you to help me.Can this CPU go on 3ghz? Tell me what to do.

Edited by lzgr

Hello,

I'm not that good with Intel but I'll try to give u a little start.

What you want to do is first of all, have some monitoring software. I suggest CPU-Z, Core Temp. Then some stress testing software like OCCT, Prime95 or Intel Burn Test. These are all free so just google each name and download the program.

Then for the actual overclocking, you go into the BIOS and look for the FSB value. You want to increase that little by little. In CPU-Z you'll see your current speed, your voltage, your FSB and your Multiplier. Those are the most important. So you increase the FSB little by little in the BIOS, and after each one, you go into the OS and you do a little 30 minute stress test to see if the CPU is stable. If so, you go back to the BIOS and increase a little more and back to the OS and stress and repeat. When you start failing your Stress Tests or the PC doesn't boot, that's a sign that a little more voltage is needed on the CPU. If you don't know where the value for the CPU voltage is located in your BIOS, ask here and someone will tell you. When you find the voltage, increase it by 1 value and do the stress tests until it passes. Then you repeat all this again. The way to calculate your CPU's speed is this: FSBxMultiplier=CPU speed in Mhz. So for example my CPU's speed is 3.1Ghz or 3100Mhz. To calculate this I would do this: 200x15.5=3100. 200 is my FSB and 15.5 is my multiplier. This can be usefull when aiming for a certain speed because you can calculate the value that you'll need to be aiming at.