OC help.

Hey everyone, as you can see I'm new here :D I've been using this site for a few months but only recently decided to join.

I currently have a AMD Phenom II X2 550 which I overclocked to 3.7GHz on stock cooling and 1.39v and it was originally 3.1GHz and 1.29v. Currently my OC is stable but occasionally refuses to boot and I was wandering if anyone could provide some advice to help improve stability and possible push 4GHz. Would increasing my RAM voltage help much? It's currently at 1.8v but my motherboard won't let me change it unless I go to 2v.

post-72547-12795646460524_thumb.jpg

Hey everyone, as you can see I'm new here :D I've been using this site for a few months but only recently decided to join.

I currently have a AMD Phenom II X2 550 which I overclocked to 3.7GHz on stock cooling and 1.39v and it was originally 3.1GHz and 1.29v. Currently my OC is stable but occasionally refuses to boot and I was wandering if anyone could provide some advice to help improve stability and possible push 4GHz. Would increasing my RAM voltage help much? It's currently at 1.8v but my motherboard won't let me change it unless I go to 2v.

Hello Imagine. Luckily, I've got the same CPU so I will help you as much as I can. First of all, you should know that all CPUs overclock differently, even if they are the exact same model. This means that you might not be able to get to 4.0Ghz. I had the same trouble when I was overclocking and I ended up with my max stable overclock at 3.9Ghz. My cpu goes up to 3.6Ghz on stock voltage and everything.