Megahalem High Temps!

mtwieck

This is my first build, but I've spent a great deal of time reading all I could

on the Internet about building a home system. So I was really pleased when I put

everything together out of the case and it booted MemTest86+ the first time and

ran over night on 6GB mem. without errors!

Now my problem: I believe my temps are high for my configuration, see below.

With the Megahalem and running at 1.8GHz @Idle I see 38c degrees in Win Vista

x64, and 63c degrees @3.2GHz with a full blend of eight threads of Prime95

running. Ambient temp. is 22c degrees.

I've tried reinstalling the HSF five times, in both horizontal and vertical

orientations. I've tried more TIM and less TIM. I've made sure to clean it well

with Arctic Cleaner during reinstalls and I've used OCZ Freeze four times and

the TIM from Prolimatech once, but nothing has made a significant change.

I'd like to hear from anyone who has and idea. Especially those who use the

megahalems. One thing I noticed out of the box is my Megahalems has an "X" on

the bottom of the base, (the part that contacts the CPU). It