1st HTPC build

hyg71886

Hi everyone this is my first time posting. I am in the NGR and go to Penn State. I'm about to recieve a refound and wanted to build an htpc to go with the 58in samsung PN58A650 I'm buying. I know computer parts will be going up so I want to build it now before this happens. My budget for this build is 2k, and I have no preferance on brands. The things I want to be able to do are the following,

1. Rip blu-rays at exceptional speeds to internal hd for later viewing (converting my entire collection to HD)

2. Orginaze and maintain my music collection (my speakers I have will be connected to tv)

3. Watch blu-ray movies whilee performing task in background

4. Be able to play games like 2k9 and

Burnout paradise maxed out w/ remote control(Games like crisis, Fear 2, etc I will play on my gaming rig)

I don't really no what direction to go for this build so I am open for suggestions. Everything will be connected through HDMI via Pioneer Elite SC-07. I have vista ultimate, but if there is a better media player program such as mediaportal or something, again I am open for suggestion. The last thing is I need recommendations for controllers that work great, and a program that will let me tweak them easily to play with games like 2k9, burn out, and saints row 2. thanks

I know computer parts will be going up so I want to build it now before this happens.

What makes you say this? Comparable parts almost always drop in price over time.

I don't think you need to spend $2k to be able to do what you want either. My HTPC cost me less than $800 and it can play Crysis smoothly. :P

Edited by Waco

What makes you say this? Comparable parts almost always drop in price over time.

I don't think you need to spend $2k to be able to do what you want either. My HTPC cost me less than $800 and it can play Crysis smoothly. :P