Quad Core And Dual Core Question + Screen Resolution Question

mikozee

Is quad-core worth it nowadays? I know when it first came out, there weren't many programs that utilized it to it's full potential, thus making it rather pointless to get. I'm wondering if it's still like that. My choice right now is a 2.0ghz quad-core or a 2.4 Dual-core. I'm going to be using the laptop as my workstation, desktop, and mobile gaming center. So I need the best processor.

Also, is there a huge difference between WUXGA and WXGA+ ? On that note, is there a huge, noticeable difference between a 1920 x 1200 and 1440 x 900 display? Both monitors are 17".

Theres these two laptops. One of them has the 1920 x 1440 display. It seems that everyone wants to get this version. However, I've also read that the people who get the 1920 x 1440 display never uses and lowers it to 1440 x 900 and they only get the 1920 x 1440 because it's better?

I'm no expert on this. I'm only posting what I know and what I've read.

Is quad-core worth it nowadays? I know when it first came out, there weren't many programs that utilized it to it's full potential, thus making it rather pointless to get. I'm wondering if it's still like that. My choice right now is a 2.0ghz quad-core or a 2.4 Dual-core. I'm going to be using the laptop as my workstation, desktop, and mobile gaming center. So I need the best processor.

Also, is there a huge difference between WUXGA and WXGA+ ? On that note, is there a huge, noticeable difference between a 1920 x 1200 and 1440 x 900 display? Both monitors are 17".

Theres these two laptops. One of them has the 1920 x 1440 display. It seems that everyone wants to get this version. However, I've also read that the people who get the 1920 x 1440 display never uses and lowers it to 1440 x 900 and they only get the 1920 x 1440 because it's better?

I'm no expert on this. I'm only posting what I know and what I've read.