Let the vogue begin

Right I have not long built my first system and touch wood it appears to have worked :nod:

Now I have never tried to overclock before and am looking to try.

I have searched the forum and have found loads of information as you can imagine. But i was looking to see if anyone who has a similar system to me could point me in the right direction of a post that I could read to start my overclocking. I don't know if there is a step by step guide or even a post that tells me how to get a start.

In anticipation I have downloaded some software that you guys have recommended (Prime95, 3Dmark06/05, cpuz, crystalcpu, smartcuard and everest)

The oc guide has everything you need to be able to overclock an opteron.

Read it carefully and apply.

DO NOT just copy someone else's voltage and htt settings when clocking your cpu, they will probably not work for you, and you may even end up either frying or overheating you cpu.

Read the guide thoroughly, make sure you understand all the ratios in there, and the cause and effect of each setting, so that when you tweak it, you know what will happen.

You need to start your own overclock from scratch, and go up in small increments, like 10mhz on the htt, and small voltage increments (like 0.025v) and then you will be safe.

Thanks guys. Have started reading it and believe it or not I'm getting quite excited about trying it.

Have a couple of simple questions though?

1. How do you open more than 1 instance of Prime95? When one is open and I click the shortcut to open another it just stayed with the one open (hope that makes sense)

2. What torture test do you run to see if it is stable? I think there is 4 options and I don't know which one to use?